A GIRL WITH BASKET

in #freedom6 years ago


I had left New Delhi for the Himalaya.I was going as far as Bareilly by train and then by car to Ranikhet-an old British army hill station located on a 6,000-foot ridge opposite a120 mile stretch of snow -capped Himalaya.The train was slow;and it stopped at all the way stations.At every stop I swung open the door of my compartment,and walked the platform.The pletfpla were packed with people-Sikh,Moslem,Hindus;soldiers,marchen m,priest,porters,beggars,hawker.Almost everyone was berefood and dressed in loose white garment.I would ask at least three people before I could find one who spoke English.We would talk world affairs and every major topic the news of the day produced.In this way I was trying to get a feel of the pulse of the nation,cheching opinion against official attitudes and reports.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59