Can't Avoid The State When Getting Married! Our Dilemma....

in #freedom6 years ago

So as people who advocate for freedom and stand firmly against the state, it seems we have come across a dilemma...

23434914_10212603774122969_3754521041132496353_n.jpg

@haileyscomet and I don't want the state involved in our marriage, but she wants her last name legally changed to mine for a few different reasons. Problem is, if we just change her name legally, the State of Texas will require over $500 in court fees, we have to set a date to see a judge, and jump through several other hoops, none of which we can do while on the road. So it will be a huge hassle and cost more money to the state if we don't let them get involved....which I know is there whole plan....

Ah, what to do, what to do!! What would you do?

codysteem.jpg

Please give me a follow here on Steemit, check out my travel website and join my doTERRA essential oils team!

Sort:  

I would just ignore the state and call her exactly what you both want, until you got time to do the legal mumbo jumbo. Could even make a meme out of it :)

And stay happy 💖

I think this is a good idea. Obviously, you know the details better than I do... but if it were possible to just have a "social name" and then a different "state name" that may be a solution.

I may even add @cryptli to my name as this blog thing is really funny. It is just to start using it as an additive name IMO.

The union was far in existence before the state took control. If there be any old fashion way, get it done @mickeybeaves

😉she is cute

all i have to say : amazing beard :D

Some things are just a necessary evil and I guess this one is. So I guess it is less hassle and cheaper to just go the old fashion way and be done with it. That's what I would say...

Why does it need to be legally changed? Just change it. Go by Adams. Boom. What is the hang up with that?

Ant time she asked for formal ID, her name would changed back, she does not want that. She wants the last name to die in all ways, including legally and on documents.

Shoot I'm sorry! I agree with @jackie2017 I think to save you money and time, it sounds like letting the state get involved may be the best bet... :/ but do what makes you happy! :)

Congratulations @mickeybeaves, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2153 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4144.58. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I guess it depends on how badly you want to keep the state out of your marriage. If you really have some deep seated fundamental objection to the state being involved, then don't do it. However, one important thing to remember is this will not be last time you face a problem like this. So, if you are just sort of like hey, let's try and keep the state out of our marriage. Then you should probably get married and include the state, so you don't have fight with them the rest of your life.

I wasn't an an anarchist when I got married, but I was opposed to state interference in the institution. I got a government license because the pastor of the church we wanted to get married in required it.
I don't know how strongly you don't want the state involved, but I'd say to just go ahead and get the license, and call it notifying them like you're doing when you legally change her name.
Or maybe you can get the license made and use it to change her name really fast, but never actually file the license. There's usually a few days or weeks of grace to cover the honeymoon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73