The Importance of Having a Hobby Outside of Work

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

I have to admit that I have an addiction. I am a workaholic.

I've been obsessed with planning and organizing this beautiful detox retreat here in Acapulco, which takes place this upcoming April. I'm mostly on the computer, answering emails, creating spreadsheets, writing articles, brainstorming new ideas, networking, writing speeches for upcoming events and taking proper steps to learn how to budget. If I'm taking a break from work, I'm thinking about work. So I really never stop working unless I'm sleeping...and ironically I dream about work. This has been a big year in building my career, and I'm constantly looking for new opportunities and learning experiences that will help me bring new skills into the work I do.

When you are passionate about your work, there's little to nothing that can stop you from achieving your goals. Having the ability to work for something I'm extremely passionate about has been a such a gift and a blessing for me. But I've learned that there is a downside to being a workaholic as well, even when it happens to be something I love.

I live in a beautiful little beach town outside of Acapulco, Mexico where I have resided on-and-off for the past year. I literally live two blocks away from the ocean, and I can sadly count on one hand how many times I've actually gone to the beach. I will note however, that I've gone to the beach more times in the last week than I did in one year. This is a huge turnaround.

Up until recently, I never explored the culture of Mexico because I've either been too scared, or I didn't allow myself the ability to find time to. I had no idea that there was a beautiful little surf community here, nor did I care because I was too neurotic about there being sharks in the water and fearing all the energies of the ocean. Alas, I've basically spent one year of my life completely disconnected from what was going on outside of my work, my house, and the grocery store I visit on a weekly basis.

I recently had a burnout, which obviously happens if we push ourselves too hard, and don't take time that's necessary to switch off of work mode and switch on to play. This was not a good time to burn out (or so I thought), seeing as the retreat I've been organizing is literally right around the corner.

Luckily, we've had a beautiful individual staying with us for the last few weeks. Runner of WeAreChange Colorado @bruceb
recently introduced the EXPAT community to the surf community here in Acapulco. Ironically, we all hang out down there, drink cold coconut water and take in the gorgeous Acapulco sunset and soak in the beach vibes. My room mate and dear friend @geliquasjourney took me boogie boarding a couple days after we all started collecting down at the beach, and I came to find that the ocean (the big body of water that I've lived next to and ignored for the past year) was the channel I was looking for that was going to help refill my empty cup.

I loved boogie boarding so much that a few days later I picked up surfing. I've had three lessons so far and yesterday was the first time I caught a wave by myself. It's much harder than it looks, but luckily I love challenges.

There's something about the ocean that makes people glow. Yes, the minerals and sea salt help, but it's not just that. The ocean is a powerful body of water, and it holds a lot of energy. It's humbling in the sense that we realize just how small we are. When that one wave comes out of nowhere and punches me square in the face, or when I try to get up on the board and the next wave knocks me off balance and I go tumbling like a shoe in a washing machine, I have to just giggle because there's nothing else to do when I'm knocked into reality of how small I am. But when I finally stand on top of a wave, I feel the ocean sharing her power with me. I'm riding in synchronicity with her and I actually get to feel how she harnesses her energy.

Surfing is also teaching me balance, not just with my body, but also with my work. I've spent at least an hour in the ocean in the last week either boogie boarding or surfing. These activities have helped to bring my inner child to the surface - the part of me that doesn't want to work, but wants to play. I believe that, as adults, it's absolutely necessary to keep our inner child alive, or we're going to eventually crumble under the pressure "adulting" essentially brings.

No matter what hobby it is that you like to do, make time to do it! Make time for self-care, and for things that bring you joy. Even though I really, really enjoy my work, I've recently learned that I work a lot better when I have another activity to balance it out - so I can take my mind off of my projects and come back to it with a fresh, clear mind. I find that it really set the energy for the next task I need to perform.

Surfing has become a great therapy for me to get out of my house, smile, and shine as bright as the Acapulco sun. My stress levels have dropped immensely, and I feel more excited about the hard work I've put into my projects! I'm happy to say that my cup is full again, and the credit goes to the great friends I'm surrounded by, the ocean, and my new love of learning how to ride the waves of the ocean and of life itself.

Sort:  

If this isn't the best commercial to get anarchoVols to relocate to this "paradise", I don't know what would be. LOL

Hi maceytomlin,

Glad for you that you found time to balance life with work. Having lived in Hawaii for 25 years and live near the ocean 1/2 block away for 5 years, I know what you mean when after while I just did not go over to the ocean to relax or have fun.
Much success in April.

Surfing is a kind of meditation that requires presence in the moment. Good for youbfor finding a hobby. About work we can try and turn work into fun then there is a chance that you will not burn out, sadly that is easier said than done.

Planning retreats: boy oh boy...it's a lot of cat herding! But for my first time trying to do this, I'm very proud of all the work I have put into it!

Cat herding 🤣 that's challenging

BonFEEL'N it!! :) Happy to help inspire more humans to connect with the ocean and devolop new passions!! Hooray for balancing work and fun!

Thank you for this. I've teetered on the edge of burnout many times. And anything around the ocean is so healing and revitalizing.

I love this!! All of us definitely need activities we are passionate about outside of work. It's vital! 🙏

Excellent, I'm glad that through your experience you invite us to self-observe and realize how absorbed we live, and ask ourselves: When do I have time for myself? Work-situations-people. They revolve around us, but when we experience leaving that systematic bubble, we feel alive and happy, and there is a great reality and an enigmatic key that we must recover. thanks for your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80