You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've been dreading work the next day every night, but today an amazing thing happened

in #freedom7 years ago (edited)

"but I am not ready to leave it yet because I live in New York City and am terrified of not being able to cover my rent."

I hear that. Used to live in NYC and frankly:

Rent too damn high.jpg

I found a way to get my job online and blew outta there for less wintry pastures. I don't know how the same place can be so ungodly hot in summer and also freeze my ass off in the winter. It's like the whole asphalt island of Manhattan is one giant iguana heat-radiating stone.

Sort:  

Hahaha, so freakin' true! I burst into a chorus of "Hot Town Summer in the City" the other day at my office, and as usual, no one else there was old enough to know the song in the first place.

I have been looking at work from home jobs for a month or so now. I really want to find something where I can work remotely.

For what it is my rent is very reasonable and I have a landlady who will do anything to keep me, so she only raises my rent about 1.2% per year. But if I tell anyone outside of Manhattan my rent they think I'm nucking futs!

The funny thing is, I took a couple years of in 2012-2014 to "chill out"...in Arizona! It's almost more bearable out there in summer than here (but not really.)

Congrats on finding the online gig!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52