You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Kind of Dad I Want to Be (Being afraid that you are not doing "good enough" can make you do worse in any arena, including parenting.)

in #freedom7 years ago

I think as parents we all worry that we might be inadequate in some way, or that we aren't doing enough/being enough for our kids. It kind of comes with the territory. But it seems like you are parenting with the objective always in mind of raising a free individual. And that is rare, indeed. With that as your guiding principle, I pretty much guarantee you'll do more good than harm.

I often find that the things I worry most about as a mom end up taking care of themselves. For instance, I was so worried about my daughter learning to read (she was a delayed reader) that it caused me major anxiety for several years. However, I stuck to my unschooling guns and backed off, trying to trust in her process. At ten, she taught herself to read, and now is perfectly fluent. So maybe I did all that worrying for nothing. Have you ever found that to be true?

Sort:  

Definitely. In fact, I was just thinking about that. I also am reminded of that famous Mark Twain quote:

So good to hear about your daughter! Proof that kids develop just fine on their own time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64197.36
ETH 3181.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49