The Question That Can Change Everything, But Few People Dare To Ask.

in #freedom7 years ago

Conformity creeps into our lives like cancer. Guilt is laid on us out of a sense of duty. Expectations of ourselves are often an attempt to predict what others are expecting of us.

These are some of the chains that bind you. Even if we were completely free from coercive governments, violent oppressors, and financial worry, we’d still be enslaved by conformity if we are not vigilant in recognizing and throwing off the yoke of conformity.

I began taking account of some common ways we fall into conformity. That list became this poem.

In this video, I hope to make you stop and think. Consider the decisions you make on a daily basis. And be brave enough to ask yourself who you’re living for. Why you are living for. When you are living for.

Is that what you really want?

Is that why you’re here?

If you do the exercise that is mentioned in the video, I’d love to hear your reaction to it in the comments.

[youtube

]

Sort:  

I agree with what you said, layl(Is that your name?) especially about the relationship that we are maintaining even if we are not happy. Happiness should always be the priority. Like you said even though it's a small business, but you are enjoying every step of your life. It's very important to know how we really want to live our life. I would like to add this as well that success shouldn't always be measured on what you accomplish materialistically in your life so far, but ask yourself if you are truly happy with your situation. We should always be pushing ourselves to achieve something in our life or someone else's life no matter what. If we stop dreaming then there isn't our existence. "Dreamer is Liver" with this being said, I want to say that don't be overly obsessed with success as well. Live your life to the fullest and count every achievement along the way. Be happy and make others happy. There isn't a thing called "small achievement". When you are climbing a ladder, every step is important. It's not like only top steps are important, just like that even in life, everything you accomplish should be seen as steps to climb the ladder to the top. Looking forward to hearing more from you brother.

I was rushing to write the feedback before going into the profile. I see that you are Cody. It was very nice meeting you, Cody.

@lykkejay , right on brother. Thanks for your comments. I definitely try to help people see and appreciate the small things in life too. You are right! We should all celebrate the "small" victories too.

So- will you try the exercise? See if you can make a list of the things you do and ask what it is on the list that you might just be doing out of obligation? It can be a real eye-opening thought experiment.

Thanks for reading and commenting. It's good to have you here!

I'm a nonconformist too, and in many ways I've arranged my life to suit myself. I'm a nightowl who works from home, getting up at the stroke of noon most days. (I've been scolded for being lazy too, but why is it different if you get stuff done at midnight or you get it done at 8:00 AM? )

Despite this, I've been feeling really stuck because I don't like the work I get paid to do, and the little free time I have seems to get sucked into a vacuum. If I'm going to find a way to fix the first problem, I have to fix the second one first. So I'm doing your exercise.

What I've found so far is that I do a whole lot of stuff I don't really want to do, not so much to conform, but to live up to standards I've created for myself that don't make me happy. I often feel guilty when I think of changing these things, but there are a few I'm inspired now to weed out. What you said about happy people being of more use to others really resonates with me, especially since I've been a little on the grumpy side lately. I'll let you know how my progress goes. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35