LIVE! Video protest at State Capitol following not guilty verdict of Philando Castile!

in #freedom7 years ago (edited)

I'm here at Minnesota State Capitol building in St. Paul. Earlier this evening Jeronimo Yanez was found not guilty on all accounts of murder. Crowds are gathering to protest that verdict. I'm live streaming this for as long as I can. 

Please resteem.

Sort:  

In a way I wish I could be there and, at the same time, I'm glad I'm not :(

that's exactly what I was thinking. I would want to be a part of something this big, but at the same time, I don't want to put myself in a potentially dangerous situation... upvoted and followed @fotosdenada. Keep up the good work!

@kommienezuspadt did a pretty nice job streaming it, while it was up. It looks like the stream is down now, though.

I consider the safety of these protests because I have a five year old son @kava, but anything happening at the governor's mansion or the Capitol, I feel pretty safe about. It's some of the protests that happen during the precincts or the interstate shut downs that get out of control.

Yeah, I felt the same way even being there @fotosdenada! It'd be real neat if this protest didn't have to happen at all :/

Wow they are actually protesting the government at government building and not blocking the streets and highways. I'm impressed.

They just passed legislation to increase penalty for those who impede traffic and protest on the highway and such.

Big thanks @kommienezuspadt for covering this and doing the live stream!

I fully support protesting at the capitol building and also the precinct. Really, any public or government place and, the higher visibility, the better.

I don't understand why people try to block highways, though. You want to have the greater public with you, and it seems like blocking people's movement and making it impossible for ambulances and fire trucks to get to potential emergencies would have the opposite effect.

I support #BLM but I'm split on the traffic shutdowns. I understand why it happens, but if anything were to happen to my son and I had to get him to a hospital....that's a scenario I wouldn't even want to consider.

Thanks for this posting! Just as others feel I wish I could be there but would prefer not to be as it is just too common of a story. This just saddens me on a number of levels and I'll leave it at that.

Likewise @jacobchamplain. It's a somber day, but it was good to see so much organizing and resistances to injustice.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34