They assumed I was a Democrat!!!!

in #freedom8 years ago

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

There are many reasons why I am not voting for Hillary or democrats. I will explain more about that in a different post. For now I just want to share a funny political experience I had today.

This morning I made my way to the local church where the voting for local offices was being held. I am a hispanic male. I walked into the building and made my way to the tables to begin the process of voting. The first woman to meet me took my ID and checked me in. After that I had to go to the next station where they ask what party I needed a ballot for. I heard them asking the person in front of me what party he belonged to, but the person handing out the forms had already reached to a pile of "Republican" ballots. The guy did end up asking for a Republican ballot. I was next, and as the person was asking me she did not reach for a pile of ballots, but I did tell her I needed a Republican ballot. When I said this, she hesitated for a moment and got a funny look on her face, I just stood there and smiled at her, then she gave me the ballot. I went over to fill it out and was on my way.

I am not complaining about this. It's not a big deal to me. I just thought it was a very funny experience. It made me reflect and think about how many times everyone makes assumptions based on how people look, I have to admit even I do this sometimes. I will write more later on about why I decided to be a republican when most people assume I am a democrat just because of my race. I have to think it through so I can write down my ideas in an organized manner.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.9 and reading ease of 84%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65