DeepOnion - Ethics and The Future

in #freedom7 years ago

Firstly I would like to say I'm a huge fan of DeepOnion, I'm passionate about the product, believe in the development, think the community is awesome and I'm very excited of what the future holds.

From a politic point of view I'm also on the left and believe everyone has the right to privacy and freedom without cost, its a fundamental human right that we cannot take for granted. That being said we have seen worrying proposed changes how governments around the world wish to "protect" us from dangers / terrorism such as the the UK's Snoopers Charter which for the average Joe seems reasonable but for me its terrifying. This kind invasion of privacy combined with Google Home and the Amazon Echo cold paint for a terrifying future, after all if Hitler had these kind of tools at his disposal his goal would have been accomplished much quicker.

This is why I strongly believe in services such as DeepOnion, VPN's and TOR as it is the only way we can stay protected in a forever changing world. It's also my right to purchase goods and services without the fear of reprisal, If I choose to pay for and x-rated service without disclosing this to bank that is my right, if I choose to self medicate again it is my right. Communities such as DeepOnion restores my faith in this!

However, I also have huge concerns.

Unfortunately the Darkweb has made us aware of a very dark side of humanity, some of the activities and content contained on the Darkweb is very disturbing that being said it is just a reflection of what happens in our society which cannot be ignored. DeepOnion once successful will have a huge part to play in this, people will choose the most anonymous currency so my first question is as a community are we accepting of this? or will we try to shape it in another way?

Then we have to start to think about rogue countries and terrorism will they choose to avoid banks and trade through currencies like DeepOnion? after all the platform is perfect for such trading. Will we make it easier for respected weapon manufacturers to trade anonymously with such groups?

I'm excited but also worried, I want DeepOnion to be on the right side of freedom of privacy not the wrong so my questions is

Is this what the community wants or are we happy either way?

Lets discuss...

JuneTuesdays

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71