You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Confronting racism at police protest #BlackLivesMatter #AllLivesMatter

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

Trying to create the dialog is great....but she has a point about not trying to budge someone that isn't intellectually willing to talk about why they might be racist.

It can obviously go any which way (no matter what gender, race, creed). I think it is important to have the conversation, but with people who can manage your presence. I don't think you were wrong....just a bit too persistent with the wrong people. It's always all about respect, even when you aren't being respected.

Sort:  

Nicee

If they are expressing an idea out in public then they should be prepared to talk to anyone from the public with a different viewpoint. Otherwise, what's the point?

I want knowledge and understanding for everyone...but I don't believe it is something that can be forced onto someone. I agree with you that we should all be open-minded with conversations in public.

For all we know...it could have been a simple misunderstanding that could have been probed at differently.
(EX: I may have asked 'Why do you not like white media?) Maybe his answer could have been something to the effect that white media likes to take what he says out of context. Maybe the answer would not have been that, but I might not have been as confrontational about the reverse racism right toward the beginning. Nor would I have tried to go back for seconds.

We're all different and I'm not saying that the way I would have handled it is better than what Adam did. I guess that is why we all have our part in this competition for ideology.

But the second time he went to speak to someone else and this person got in between them, like she was the other person's master.

Yeah...I don't think it was an example of self-ownership.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62