[Freedom of Speech] It's a joke you f!&king c%nts | Count Dankula and the Nazi Pug

in #freedom6 years ago


This week, a Scottish YouTube comedian who goes by the name of Count Dankula was convicted in a Scottish court of "inciting racial hatred" for releasing a video where he's trained his girlfriends dog to react to certain terrible phrases with a Nazi salute. If you haven't already seen it, I've included the video below.

Unfortunately, for me at least, it's been banned from being viewed in the country. You might have better luck where you are, or just search in YouTube for "m8 yer dugs a nazi". As everyone and their Nan has pointed out, the context of this joke is key, and for it to work as a joke you must accept that Nazis are bad/horrible/terrible etc. and that surely only Nazis would find the joke offensive. This is rightfully being called an attack on Free Speech, and it's something we should all be concerned about, even if you Count Dankula isn't to your personal taste.

The video at the top of this post is from an excellent comedian called Jonathan Pie, who is a fictitious British news reporter, created and played by British actor and comedian Tom Walker. I feel like he sums the whole situation up quite well. The point is comedy is subjective, and there is a place for offensive (or "alternative") comedy in this world. I'm of the opinion that either everything is ok, or nothing is. I think most of us who grew up with the Internet at some point or another adopted an edgy humour when we were teens, and for some reason Nazi jokes always get used. I still have a pencil case from school that me and my friend would doodle swastikas on. Neither of us were at all racist, it just seemed "edgy and cool" at the time, but I keep hold of it as a reminder. Kids eh.

There's no word yet as to what sentence Count Dankula will receive, whether it's jail time or just a fine, but either way the guy does not deserve to have a criminal record for what can only be described as a bad joke. It sets a scary precedent, and strips power away from the people, giving it directly to those in authoritarian positions.

What's your opinion on the situation? Let me know your thoughts and feelings in the comments down below, and as always make sure to follow me for the latest Cryptocurrency, Internet and Pop Culture updates. Until next time, Peace!



Sources:
The Conviction of Count Dankula Sets a Dangerous Precedent For Freedom of Speech (https://www.independent.co.uk/voices/count-dankula-freedom-of-speech-comedy-joke-iran-offended-a8270631.html)
It's a JOKE! (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ti2bVS40cz0)

Sort:  

Maybe I'm one of those c%nts. :) World war 2, a laughing matter? I don't know. Can I laugh at the fact that some maniac decided to murder millions of people (after starving them) in death camps?

I can't find the expression he used funny in any context really. Playground chants around Hitler having only one ball, I loved to sing back in the day and will forever be able to see the humour in.

But a process that saw estimates of 5 million innocent people lose their lives? In one of the most disgraceful acts of humanity ever?

It could never amuse me. Maybe people who can see such a line being used in a 'comedy routine' as being okay need to experience a war where their ethnicity suffers a little ethnic cleansing? At first hand. But then again, let's hope they never have to, eh?

The word taboo exists for a reason. Some things are taboo. And probably best nowhere near humour attempts.

Just my opinion or rather the opinion of a fair few people outside of this thread, also, I guess.

And when it comes to freedom of speech, it's an imperfect freedom anyway, isn't it? Because say the wrong things and you will face law enforcement agencies. So it's hardly worth appealing on those grounds.

It was a f%cking crass video.

Went on for far too long, too. At 'seig heil', he got the reaction he sought. With 'gas the jews', I didn't see the dog do anything. So he kept repeating it and the dog kept failing to react to it. So the point of him uttering that particular line, that extremely offensive line really is lost on me. And I love humour. The darker the better, generally. I just did not get it, at all, I guess. And I'm kind of glad I couldn't.

If my jew-hatin' pet-troll should drop by and flag the above comment, effectively hiding it, it would be nice if some good person came along and upvoted it. To unhide it. For freedom of speech reasons, if nothing else. Thanks in advance.

I'll keep an eye out in case that happens, don't worry. I haven't got the time right now to give your comment the attention it deserves, so I'll get back to you later. Peace!

Ah, cheers. I only have the one pet troll I'm sure you'll be glad to hear. :)

I just wanna make it clear that the first part of the title of this post is taken from the Jonathan Pie video at the top of the post, not my words.

My understanding of the situation is that people agree it's a bad joke, a failed joke you could say. I completely agree with most of what you say, and exactly like you said he should have stopped at sieg heil, it probably wouldn't have got the attention it did, and he wouldn't have faced court proceedings.

I think David Baddiel's tweet that @enquiringmind kindly posted sums it up best for me;

"OK, one more point. Why is it funny, and not prison-causing, for Borat to think Jews shape-shift into cockroaches? It's not cos Sacha is jewish. It's cos the joke is not on Jews, but anti-Semitism, made to look idiotic and absurd. As when a pug does a Nazi salute."
David Baddiel's Tweet

I don't want anyone to draw lines, that goes against free speech. Also, for the joke to be a joke, it requires an understanding that nazis are bad, would you agree with that? You won't find the EDL or BNP posting the video from Mr Count Dankula. The general consensus is that it wasn't funny, but people are now realising what's at stake here when we start criminalising satire, no matter how poor the attempt at satire might be. It was a f*%king crass video.

I read a good take on the situation on facebook, if you can view it I encourage you to do so: I See You, Count Dankula

Just because it's an imperfect freedom, that doesn't mean we can't try to improve it, rather than let it degrade. I don't agree that you should face law enforcement agencies for a bad attempt at a joke. There is a difference between what Count Dankula (I need to find his real name, feel ridiculous keep typing that out) did and hate speech.

I'll be honest as well, and say that I do resent your insinuation that differing opinions aren't tolerated or allowed here, that certainly is not my intention or how I wish to come across. The reason I post these threads is to encourage a conversation to be had, I want to hear others opinions more than I want to hear something that backs up my preconceived notions. Although hopefully, I've changed your mind there!

Thank you for your comment, sincerely. As I say, I largely agree with what you've said. Please feel free to share your thoughts and feelings with me, I enjoy reading them. I don't tolerate trolls or false flagging.
Peace!

Baddiel David Baddiel tweeted @ 22 Mar 2018 - 17:59 UTC

OK, one more point. Why is it funny, and not prison-causing, for Borat to think Jews shape-shift into cockroaches?… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)
Relevance: M8 Your pencil case is a Nazi;]
Our Purpose

When journalism is suppressed or becomes mere propaganda, comedy and satire is the only means to express controversial opinions, the only means to hold the powers that be to account - the only civilized means, that is - short of violence.

So, this authoritarian step to persecute Count Dankula paves the way for violent revolt. The powers that should know a disarmed population of serfs can still be underestimated.

Freedom of speech is only for those who stick to the script...

I could watch it on youtube, but not here embedded. It was funny because the dog was just not doing it for the longest time and only till after watching a video did the dog finally succumb to the "brainwashing" (which i guess was the point?). It did go on a bit too long. I don't think this was a criminal as it did not seem to incite hate or acts of racial hate which at least in the U.S. is I think in the law's language. Not really sure though I haven't looked it up.

Another thing I realised the other day, with all the controversy surrounding YouTube over the past year or so, if they thought his video was hate speech, they'd have booted him off the platform faster than you could say authoritarianism. Yeah I think the general consensus is it went on way too long, but exactly like you said, that's not inciting hate or acts of racial hatred (I'd been trying to think of that terminology for so long, thank you!). There's something funny about the Scottish court that held the trial, I believe there was no jury and it was just down to the judge's judgement.

I can watch the video, but it's not really a surprise as I live in the only European country where Nazi material is not against the law... We even have own version of the Nazi song "Erika" (renamed as namesake of city where I live, also a female name).

I didn't think Nazi material was illegal in this country, certainly not in the context of a joke. I dunno if you'll have heard of it, but many years ago Prince Harry wore a Nazi uniform to a party... no context there. Just did it, but he didn't get arrested or convicted. Hmmmm...
I'm gonna have to go look that song up now, sounds... interesting!

Law doesn't recognize such context as a joke. Something is either illegal, restricted or legal. People frown upon me if me and my friends speak German among non-German people, because they don't understand what we are talking about and can't deduce the context of the conversation.

My family has roots in Pilsrundāle in Latvia, Żagań in Poland and Germany (my family moved a lot), so me and my grandfather did study German language. I'm not really sure how much my dad understands German language, but when I was just few years old, some of the books he did have were written in German language.

Sadly, I think you're probably right there. Just out of curiosity, did you find the pug video funny? I'll be honest and say that I chuckled when he raises his little pug leg to Sieg Heil.
Wow, you've got quite a varied cultural background there! My German is minimal to say the least, I did French and German at High School but years of not using it has made my language skills rusty at best.

I did study German for 3 years in junior high (grades 7-9 here)... I can't say I'm still fluent in it, but I do understand basic grammar and quite a few words.

I don't think the video was really funny... I stopped watching it after few seconds. It was hard to follow due to strong accent.

ah yeah, his Scottish accent is a bit thick. I used to struggle a lot more with that accent, but I watched a few Scottish comedies like The Limmy Show and Still Game, I eventually started to be able to understand. It can be like studying a new language!

After trying to learn 13 languages, I think my head can't occupy more dialects or languages... I even struggle with some American accents and I have worked with American people for last 15 years. Best days I use 5 different languages myself and sometimes me and my friends have to switch between 3 languages in single conversation to make ourselves understood.

That is so impressive, so what are the 13 languages you've tried? What about the 5 you use regularly? Accents really aren't a strength of mine, even the tamest accent can sometimes throw me off.

....insanity in action....

This really is, and what concerns me more is how silent many comedians are on the subject.

...the uproar should be deafening.....

This is beyond totalitarian.

Free speech is fine, as long as it is what everyone wants to hear and doesn't offend anyone.

This has received votes from two accounts, @thundercurator and @entrepreneur916 to give you your 300%+ upvote!.

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.05 SBD ($0.051 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.15+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

I find it outrageous and terrifying that the country I live in is prosecuting someone for making a joke. If the video is considered offensive there are more rational ways of dealing with it – for example, having a conversation with the producer to ask if he intended harm towards Jews.
I've read some of the other interesting comments on this thread, and I'd like to point out that it wasn't just Prince Harry who wore a Nazi uniform to a party as a joke – Labour politician Ed Balls once did too, but that doesn't seem to get mentioned as much for some reason.
And it's great to see Jonathan Pie back on form. His response is brilliant and hilarious. Another comedian who has joined this debate is the Jewish comedian David Baddiel, who tweeted: "OK, one more point. Why is it funny, and not prison-causing, for Borat to think Jews shape-shift into cockroaches? It's not cos Sacha is jewish. It's cos the joke is not on Jews, but anti-Semitism, made to look idiotic and absurd. As when a pug does a Nazi salute."
The comedian Ricky Gervais also tweeted that he thought freedom of speech was at risk in this case.

Absolutely bud, it genuinely shocked me to hear that this happened in the UK. Unfortunately, having a conversation doesn't seem to be what people want.
More topically, Felix aka PewDiePie (have I spelt that right?) and his little spat with the media for his nazi themed jokes. I hadn't heard of that Ed Balls incident! All though it does not surprise me one bit. This whole anti-semitism in the Labour Party thing at the moment is concerning and something I've been meaning to read up on.
I think Baddiel hit the nail on the head there really. Unfortunately there are just too many people who don't understand satire. Calling Count Dankula's pug satire is giving it too much credit, it's a bad joke, but I really don't want to live in a country where you can be convicted of a criminal offense for a bad attempt at satire.
Thanks for your great comment

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29