Sort:  

Why is it hard? - if people perceive this as hard, their decadence deserves a reality check.
Hard is a relative term. Losing your leg and walking is hard

Leaving your phone alone, rather than attaching it to your pocket via a silicon umbilical cord - is not hard.

I agree, but if you look at the large majority of people, you see quite a different reality than the one you're suggesting. Just today I was looking out the window and watching this girl walk around, without looking, like a robot, because her eyes were glued to her little screen.
I don't mean it's hard as in losing a leg. But it is hard in terms of peer pressure. Events are now advertised on social media, your friends or the new people you meet are on social media. Pretty much everything is. Or so they make it seem.
Logically, no, of course it's not hard. But realistically, looking at the way people are acting now, then I'd say it is.

I think its generational too .... if you grew up in a time without smart phones, its easier to detach because you can relate and take comfort in the things that you used to do when they didn't exist.

Kids these days (OMG I AM MY PARENTS) grew up with this technological window into the lives of their friends from day one. They don't know what it is like to ride your bike over to a friends house, knock on the door and ask their parents where they are right now so you can meet up. They just open Instagram and see where the GPS pin says they are .....

We need to teach the kids today why privacy is important, they have a chance to retain it before they make any of the mistakes we did.

That's very true - most of my friends do that. To be honest, I'm always a bit scared when I see them check those little maps. Wouldn't want my location to be pinned on a map for everyone to see.

We need to teach the kids today why privacy is important

But that's the problem - nobody is teaching them that.

I posted this a couple of weeks ago on my feed ... I think it is applicable here .... I (we) cant give up, we have to keep trying.

I get to raise a generation that is infinitely better off than me, yet is much closer to certain doom.
I have to relish in the fact that everything I pass onto the next generation is infinitely worse than it was when I received it.
My only hope is that I can bestow upon them some knowledge that will help guide them from this fate and break this generational cycle ….

I have to relish in the fact that everything I pass onto the next generation is infinitely worse than it was when I received it.

Don't be too hard on yourself ... remember that the adage of 'the next generation is better off than the previous one'...was a total lie.

It was built on debt of the future, to pacify the electorate.

NOW is the time the charade is falling to pieces.
It was inevitable, it's just that this generation (and the next one) are 'it' in the game financial musical chairs.

That's why we need a non debt based monetary system so it doesn't happen again...or it will...as sure as the sun comin' up in the morning..

(OMG I AM MY PARENTS)

😂😂, thankfully I becoming more like my dad every day!
He was the 'biggest' man I ever met. (and I am saying that as objectively as I can, being his son)

He was the stubborn one, the one who followed nobody. He has is own mind.
(now I know where I get it! lol)

If people do understand what privacy is, and don't feel the importance of it - they are just the sheep.
There is nothing you can do, because they just want a non confrontational life, and peaceful death.
It's always been this way.

All changes have come from 5 -10% of society- like the American revolution, for example.

But it is hard in terms of peer pressure.

As a sheep, I can empathize. I was one once.

I have never been a sheep as an adult , so don't understand the feeling of peer pressure as an adult

These people who will go along with any change - I find it hard to believe they will affect change.

That's your job! (hard luck)

Yes, but a lot of today's adults are sheep. This is not something that mainly happens to children. On the contrary, the system has to fight to make children sheep, because they're not born that way. It takes many years of hard work in schools and high schools to get them to be sheep.
As for teenagers, they're just baby sheep. But a huge problem are the adults.

That's your job! (hard luck)

That's one of the grimmest things I've heard, albeit true ;/

I agree- but it's not new- the majority of adults have always been sheep.(possibly worse now, a little).

That's one of the grimmest things I've heard, albeit true ;/

😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04