The goat on the hill can only stand and watch as the wolf devours the herd of sheep. Both the sheep and wolf would disapprove of interference.

in #freedom7 years ago

I was at a park today, and saw a mass of children being herded like sheep by the most strict, unfriendly adults I've ever seen.

Tsk tsk.

My view of leadership is soured just by this very incident moments ago. Of course it was just a peaceful park on a sunny day, so the strict unfriendliness seemed incredibly out of place. Most certainly it got the job done though. The children were forced to obey, and so they went in a very specifically single-file line to their destination, their laughter silenced.

What a successful example of leadership.

But is it ideal?

I value team-work and motivated workers, as well as cleverness. I like a team of free-thinking people who don't need a leader. Mutualistic companionship is my ideal. Of course, when people are trained to be herded in a single-file line from children, and never once allowed to say "no," the very concept of leadership loses value.

What value is there if trained sheep-people follow a "leader?" What does it matter if some person decides to enforce dominance upon a herd of people raised to obey? If I had a feeling people could choose to lead or follow, it wouldn't be so deceitful, but if children are nurtured to obey, those children become adults trained to obey.

And they most certainly are.

Certainly a person given a leadership role will find leadership admirable. But what of the poor sheep? Well, they aren't given a leadership role. They aren't even supposed to have opinions that go against the grain, nor are they to question things. But for a person who is neither a leader nor a follower, perhaps they can look at the concept from an outside-angle, and see the true form of hierarchies.

I often wonder if I'm too mellow when it comes to provoking people. It's quite the norm for leaders to not act as cruel masters, but instead, kindly use reasonable instructions to attain their goal. But is such charismatic amicability as valuable as informed consent and voluntary participation?

There is a value to be learned from the concept of choosing to follow or choosing to lead, as a leader among equals. If you are a teacher, or in a position where leadership is used respectfully among voluntary followers, then I don't think I would see a problem there. Of course, in this sort of zany world, I would still urge each person to question things.

Always question.

Charisma is a wicked art, used more often to manipulate people into thinking they want what the leader wants. Charisma can still be useful for a poet like me, yet very often, I choose to forgo it in favor of furious passion.

Pure, pyrogenic, poetic passion produced by my personal philosophies.

Damn the norm, I say. Damn conformity. Damn masters and slaves alike.

I shall grow my own grapes, forge my own goblet, ferment my own juice, and then I shall have wine by my own hand, laughing the entire way. Oh how damned jolly I shall be.

~Kitten

Sort:  

This is indeed a question.

Are some people born to be sheep. And if they are, then there needs to be shepherds.

From my experience, I find many people who are sheep.
Left to their own devices they would not do anything. They lack ambition. The lack drive. They lack sight. They lack knowledge.

As an entrepreneurial mind type, I would like to work with equals. People that I can agree with on a direction for a company, and that both of us use our expertises to move in that direction.

But people like that are rare. And I don't know if it is because govern-cement schools have beaten it out of them, or if they were just born to be sheep.

So, when you find a good sheep, you encourage them to go in a positive direction. Or in your company's direction, if they are working for you.

But then you get bosses, and since they are just bigger sheep, they do not know how to lead. But hierarchy demands them. The middle men. They do not have the vision to lead so they end up being grumpy and cracking the whip, and fall into the mindset of you have to force people to work.

So, this is a hard question. But, there seems to be an answer. Many home schooled young people are not sheep. So, it could be entirely the fault of govern-cement indoctrination camps.

I personally blame government, religion, and herd-mentality present in society, all of which are forced upon children, and continue to be present in adult life as well. It is not the people's failing.

Humans are powerful creatures, with their brain being their most valuable asset.

People are born as humans.

Sheepism must be taught.

Ah, y'know, this is how I lead. A leader isn't a leader unless their team is allowed to pick apart and question the leaders objectives. A dictator rules and underlings follow.

I blame society and the strict rules of hierarchy that are unquestionably forced onto us from a young age. We obey our parents, we obey the teacher, we obey the employer. I try to give people a taste of their own leadership qualities, even if ultimately being led by me.

Your post title is how I feel constantly.

I laughed a lot with the title. Thank you very much laughter is very necessary.
I believe that all people are born equal and as they educate us, our personality is defined. It will depend on each culture, religion.
From my point of view the sheep choose at a certain point in their lives not to inquire too much, to question nothing, to follow an established order is much easier than to think for yourself.I do not blame them because they are probably happier in their ignorance.

What if I agree with the shepherd on everything, how do I show my individuality then?

All that counts is that you have a choice, and give others a choice.

A shepherd has one task: To raise the sheep until they're big enough to slaughter, and in the meantime, cut away their wool and sell it for maximum profit, so be careful of the words you use.

"I often wonder if I'm too mellow when it comes to provoking people."

Ummm, IMHO, no!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Awesome post. It made me think of one of my favorite quotes:

Rebel, children, I urge you, fight the turgid slick of conformity with which they seek to smother your glory. --Russell Brand

I'm pretty sure the whole intent of a public education system was to condition people to follow orders and become pliable. It's been very effective.

We're going to have to dismantle it at some point and create something new if we want a society that's based on the idea of leadership among equals. My workplace operates on this model, and it makes going to work a much more pleasant experience. The only drawback is that it requires a lot more communication for things to run effectively.

I think you'll continue to find that there are in many in agreement with these sentiments - far more than you or I may believe, and certainly more than most people would assume.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44