I'm a free range chicken, would you like to be like me?

in #freedom5 years ago

Many years ago, at least that is how I imagine it, people lived in small nomadic groups. Hunting and gathering was the main thing. And we would follow the food as the seasons dictated.

Somehow someone discovered that seeds that fell to the ground would become plants and that changed everything.
Instead of going after food, we started growing it. And that meant being grounded. No more walking around because the main thing was to attend to the fields.

The groups that chose to do this were confronted with new challenges. And the main one was that they needed to store the food in order to eat during the winter. It also meant that there was much more food than what could be eaten. And that created the opportunity for trade. Communities started growing wealthier and the abundant food facilitated population growth.

There was of course a downside. There were other groups of people that were still hunter-gatherers and they started to raid these wealthy communities. Because of this constant threat, some members of the farmers groups offered to guard and protect the community in exchange for food and all the other things they couldn't provide for themselves because of their security duties. And that gave them power over their peers, because they had the weapons and they knew how to fight. So they kept raising the fees for their protection moneys until they became richer that everyone else. So they took control of society.

They became farmers of farmers. We, the little people are descendants of these peasants. For the rulers (they are probably the same families since the game has been played) we are nothing else but assets. Like cows or chickens.
And like cattle, we have no idea about this fact because the rulers keep us uninformed and dumb.

They discovered that they could make us believe in just about anything. Like the fact that their power was given to them by the gods. Religion and state always work together, don't they? So I discovered that I'm like a chicken to some guy. He owns me (that is why I have a number and I need permission to do everything and he has a claim on my income).

But one day, I saw a hole in the fence. I stepped outside and I have never looked back. I'm now a free range chicken. I feed myself, take care of myself and don't pay much taxes because the farmer that owns me has no idea of my whereabouts. Let me tell you, Freedom rocks! And I want to tell other people about it.

We might not be able to change things from within, but maybe we can from without...
Follow me, message me and we can help each other grow this idea.
Spread the word!!

chicken.jfif

Sort:  

Congratulations @henrigares! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52