You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⚙️ Engineering Consumerism And Manipulating Masses

in #freedom7 years ago

Great Post. You've done a nice job showing all of this. In the beginning of the posts, though, even the ads from the '50s were showing the need to buy based on happiness "...look at how his neighbor looks in admiration..." and stuff like that.

I really wish, and have said many times to my wife and anyone around, that there was truth in advertising. But as I learned from one of my college courses, Statistics Lie and can be used as a ploy in advertising just as well.

Sort:  

You are right, @dbzfan4awhile ! You see I was looking better examples but they were hard to find. The video I chose was not perfect, but at least it shows how innocent adverts were in comparison. Thank you for the kind feedback.

That's completely accurate, though... comparatively, advertisements nowadays are so overtly into "human desires" that it often makes the ad seem so senseless. Milk has nothing to do with hot women.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59647.06
ETH 2365.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56