You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breaking the Cycle of Sexual Trauma - John Bush

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

Thank you for this video. Interesting discussion with someone who is smart and genuine. I have a different take that in some ways conflicts with his though. I think that it is challenging to have these conversations when people try and go back and interpret things that have happened in the past. Yes it may have been traumatic and in hindsight as the person looking at it now it looks traumatic But how do you know that is actually was to the young person? I am not putting aside or dicounting anything negative that happened, but you could extend this to anything that happened in the past getting into a fist fight or being punished for getting a bad grade on a test. If we open ourselves up allowing us us to intepret things based on the times we we are in now ( I will not even discuss the additional issue of being under the influence of psychoactive drugs), are we really discovering anything or just making something up? Again I do not want to discount traumatic experiences, but to say that we are all traumatized trying to find a way out of that trauma does not line up with my experiences of life and people. Yes a lot of people are in pain, but everyone. Sorry I do not buy it nor do I think we should think this way, it is simply too self-defeating. Thanks.

Sort:  

Thanks for the thoughtful comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50