You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Have Decided To Leave The US and Here's Why!

in #freedom7 years ago

That's a bold move and I admire you for it! I've thought of doing the same thing, only I'd like to go to an island somewhere without a lot of people on it.

I don't know much about the Philippines, though I know it's considered one of the better expatriate destinations.

Even though traditional "retirement" is a good 25 years away and I hope to gosh I'm doing something on my own long before that, I subscribe to the (free) Overseas Property Alert newsletter which goes over many of the most desireable retirement destinations as well as finding and recommending some that haven't fully been discovered yet. They have articles every day detailing how to buy property in places like Colombia, Panama, Portugal, Brazil, France, Belize, etc., how to get residency, tips on things you should do if you are moving abroad, etc. It's good because it gets me thinking along those lines and starting to actually envision being able to do it someday.

And of course I also subscribe to PrivateIslandsOnline.com newsletter where I "shop" for islands every week, picking out ones that cost about the same as a New York 1 bedroom condo or a little bit more or less, trying to find ones with sources of fresh water, with 30' or more elevation, at least 10 acres, near enough to civilization in case of a health issue, etc.

There's actually a couple in the Philippines for less than $1 million. Green Bay Island is listed for $800,000 and is 15 acres: https://privateislandsonline.com/asia/philippines/green-bay-island

In any case congratulations on your decision!

Sort:  

@clemdane I appreciate the feedback and support and I will check out the website that you provided that has the newsletter.

This decision has been in the making for sometime and although I will miss some things about the US I will not miss much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65676.04
ETH 2615.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65