You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm not your pet.

in #freedom7 years ago

Great post Matt. Your pictures are very challenging for me. If there is one thing that has really questioned my libertarian leanings it is becoming a parent of young children. At what point (or age) do you think a person should be trusted to make their own decisions about safety?

Sort:  

Once they've moved out of home.
"As long as you're living under my roof..."
Until then, its up to the parents to decide.

That would be interesting to explain to a 24 year old "child"....it's hard enough with a 16 year old, but the exact word's I used last week, LOL

Great post, it remind's me a bit of the time before litigation skyrocketed.

Yeah, duty of care is an interesting concept.
Party A says that Party B has to ensure the bodily integrity of Party C, regardless of the wishes of Party C.
I can't build a huge, exciting, but potentially dangerous amusement park, and allow admission only to adults, and only with the stipulation that you ride at your own risk.
You have rights that you can't waive. In that regard, Party A is the one treating you as a pet, interjecting in the relationship between Parties B and C.

The world doesn't think were the nanny country for nothing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49