BREAKING | Privacy Boost: Brave Browser Just Married the Duck Duck Go Search Engine. 2 Privacy Focused Needs Combined.

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)


Brave.

--

The browser that blocks ads / trackers so you can surf quicker and with added security, announced today that they have partnered with privacy-centric search engine DuckDuckGo

-- making browsing even more secure to take back your stolen privacy by Big Data/Government.


I noticed an update was needed on MY Brave today, so I did that. The browser does clearly have some bugs and issues but officially:

-- As of today it's available on Brave’s 0.19.x desktop browser release.

-- Brave’s Android and iOS apps will include the DuckDuckGo feature in the first quarter of 2018.


DuckDuckGo now appears in the 19 available search engines options in the browser, along with Yahoo, Bing, and the evil....Google.


Privacy Overkill?

--

Not at all.....

It may sound like this or even redundant to some, to feature an anonymous search option in a privacy focused browser that already promises to keep your data secure.

However they state that, even on Brave:

“search engines such as Google record what the user enters in the search bar.”


It's Great News.... especially if you are informed as to what is truly going on behind the scenes in the war for your mind, privacy and data!


DuckDuckGo has conducted their own research showing that revealed Google search results were still being matched to users even when they were in the private or incognito mode.

“We take that to mean that they were being tailored based on their IP address or other fingerprinting techniques using search history from before that session,”

-- DuckDuckGo CEO Gabriel Weinberg explained.

...“Within private browsing mode, we find that many people expect their searches to not be tracked, and this new integration with Brave enables them to get the privacy they expect and deserve in that mode.”


The default search engine on Brave to date, has been Google, but as of today DuckDuckGo is the suggested option for private tabs.

Personally, I have used Brave which like I stated earlier, clearly has issues with their tabs sticking/not working properly/cannot close or switch between them a lot of the time.... but I have used DDG with Brave for awhile now.

Brave launched in January 2016, says it currently has about ~ 1M monthly active users.


BAT Tokens in the Brave Ecosystem:


There is a crypto currency attached to this browser if you want to implement it, to support content online with donations but that can be covered another day -- Look up the BAT Token. -- which as of this week, has been on the move trending upwards after mostly trading sideways since launch.

Trust me I know, I hold some BAT tokens from the early days. I have been watching this market.

The company is currently pushing to expand its reach. It launched its own crypto token in June in a $35 million token sale I just mentioned here.

Lifetime View here on CoinMarketCap.com:


The Founder Has a Pedigree and Past Success:


Brave was founded by former Mozilla CEO Brendan Eich. and started their 1st of several planned token giveaways last week to attract new Brave users into the system. That's partly why I followed this story from the start, and put some faith into the product and company.

Because Brave blocks all ads, they've promised to assist content creators online find and replace the lost revenue with tokens gifted from the Brave browser users who appreciate their content.

This DuckDuckGo breaking news may attract some users to give Brave’s browser another look. Or at least put it back in the news or crypto watch communities. Ironically as this news breaks today, the price of the BAT as you see was actually down. It has been on a slight run up lately as I mentioned, with around the ~5% gain ratios.

Both companies have stated there will be additional news coming to their joint projects here, than was talked about in today’s announcement -- calling their work together so far......

“only the beginning of a long-term partnership.” and:

“DuckDuckGo and Brave intend to collaborate on co-branded privacy awareness initiatives and experimental pilots,”

-- they stated jointly.


Tweet from Duck Duck Go:


Img. Sources

-- Thanks for reading, have a nice day.



If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/crypto-101-video-wcn-bitcoin-morning-brief-w-jimmy-song-tone-vays-daily-stream-from-today-36-mins-or-bitcoin-morning-brief-w

https://steemit.com/health/@barrydutton/rt8jx-quote-of-the-day-one-day-or-day-one-or-we-never-know-who-may-need-this-today-or-the-replies-in-this-post-too

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/live-now-90-mins-crypto-101-or-video-tone-vays-and-richard-heart-on-the-record-w-richard-heart-cme-cboe-bitcoin-futures-tether

https://steemit.com/freedom/@barrydutton/a-key-to-success-no-matter-what-be-the-best-version-of-you-1-day-at-a-time-some-thoughts-from-a-guy-that-actually-cares-inspired

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/crypto-101-or-video-world-crypto-network-daily-stream-from-today-15-mins-or-today-in-bitcoin-news-podcast-2017-12-14-it-s-never

https://steemit.com/money/@barrydutton/investment-language-101-series-term-of-the-day-what-is-sec-form-13f-or-e-31-or-trading-candle-cheat-sheet-incl-each-episode

https://steemit.com/health/@barrydutton/e-7-or-fluoride-and-other-toxins-in-your-municipal-water-supplies-are-poisoning-you-they-re-full-of-cancerous-neurotoxins-and

https://steemit.com/christianity/@barrydutton/coast-to-coast-w-the-holy-ghost-or-preaching-a-short-sermon-delivering-a-word-to-the-church-on-a-mission-trip-years-ago-east

Stock Images in most cases unless noted: via my files, Giphy.com , Funny or Die.com / Pixabay.
Sources usually on image or credited if I cannot find it on an image, but sometimes I forget, sorry if this bothers anyone.
Img. Source

If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

--

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

EOS (EOS) - 0xD37bEFf5bf07E3aa432de00cE0AaA8df603A4fB0

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a day.
This has really upset some people but I do not force my opinions on others, or need to communicate every detail of my life or issues, most people do not care anyways. I invested around 10 hours or more a day on Steemit most of my first 13 mths here, I just do not have that time in my life right now, and that includes for replies and voting/curation.
I have done my best, sorry if you do not understand like some are clearly having a problem with. It's a blogging platform, and I will do my best at everything, and to keep blogging.
Carry On.

Sort:  

RIP....startpage is better!! ;)

Really great news, I use both, duck duck go and brave and I'm also a javascript/node developer and bat was created by Brendan Eich!

OMG that is such good news. I use DuckDuck for a while now and just rediscovered Brave. Both are the best alternative to Google! But I still have my Firefox. I am a fan since version 1.0.

The Ceo of brave, Brendan Eich, co-founded the Mozilla project and also the creator of javascript and the BAT token!

All that stuff is actually in my post.

LOL

That's part of why I followed this project, like I said in the post from day one -- because of who the founder is/was/ has done.

Good times.

Yeah, there are some amazing heads behind this project. I find it incredibly interesting. Not quite sure what to think of the attention token. Time for SMTs I would say!

That BAT token intrigued me out of the gate before launch when I first heard about all of this stuff.

I hope Brave gets their crap together and fixes the stuff that needs to work every day, like being able to actually move/navigate/close tabs and such.

I have advised them in blue collar language LOL

It is not rocket science

actual quote I gave them, tabs and simple tasks like that are kinda important.

I've used DDG for a while now. Never heard of Brave, tho. Will check 'em out. Thanks for the heads up!

I am glad you saw this!

Glad you took time to comment and LMK feedback too, honestly.

See I can be glad LOL

#HoHoNO

lol

I currently use Firefox, so to know this guy is involved adds a level of confidence in other projects.

Awesome! I've been using duck duck go for quite a while now, always loved it

Good to know, my friend, thanks for commenting on this today.

I use duckduckgo all the time. Have you heard of presearch? I wrote a review on it recently.

I came across Brave when I was looking into improving my privacy and security online. I didn't round to trying it out, but this is great news. I'll have to download and take a closer look at it :)

Make note of the clear issues they have, that I have addressed. Or you will be extra frustrated.

I will man, thanks. Will take me a while to get round to it anyways, chocka block at work at the minute.

im a big fan of brave

I wonder what kind of offspring a lion and a duck will make. Oh my.

If find out, can I change your mind about the Christmas baking????

LOL

Not a crumb left! I cant leave such temptations laying around. I would gain like 20lbs lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86