You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rich or poor?

in #freedom7 years ago

I love your message and couldn't agree more with it. I grew up on a farm here in Transylvania, Romania, and we have always grown most of our food. This year we managed to grow about 80% of the food we used. In total, we've produced 10 tons of food for ourselves and our animals.

It's very healthy, rewarding and liberating. I wish more people would try to grow their own food.

Sort:  

@bankster Your story is a good example, thanks for your reaction! I am sure a lot of people want to go back to basic. The world is telling us to move to the cities and learn, learn, work, work, work and spend money for unnecessary things.

Thanks! It really is going back to the very basics but it's also so incredibly peaceful and rewarding. I've lived in a big city, I know its rewards but also the stress and worries. Farming is a lot of work as well, but at least you're outside, surrounded by beautiful nature and animals. The only thing that's bothering me right now is that I'm a bit lonely here in the countryside. Otherwise, it's great.

I would like to know more about subsistence agriculture in Hungary and Romania. Here in Serbia it is widely used, many people grow their own foods. In 2017 my family fattened pigs and raised many chickens for eggs and meat. We also grew a lot of veggies, and made our own brandy (this is the illegal part). We sold a part of the produce so it wasnt quite subsistence agriculture, though it is impressive as we have little land

It's the same here in Romania. Most people in the countryside do it. Plant vegetables, fatten pigs, make wine, that sort of thing. Brandy as well, the plum variety is very popular. I think things are almost identical in Serbia, Romania and Hungary in terms of subsistence agriculture and countryside living in general.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43