Even Nomads need a break - Long term traveling is not like being on a holidaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freedom6 years ago (edited)

Imagine adventuring through 10+ Countries in just 6 months. Some people think I am on a neverending vacation living as a permanent tourist and enjoying life 24/7.


20171031_181646.jpg

I am not.


Ok true, I am enjoying life 24/7 and I love what I'm doing, but I am not on holidays. I wasn't drinking mojitos by the beach on every Caribbean country I went to. I was not staying in fancy hotels where you get room service. I was not going on tours with cute guides in comfortable vehicles. I wasn't booking expensive first class flights to travel around the world. But hell, I was 100 times happier than when I was working a 9 to 5 in México city.

Hold on, this is not a negative post, keep reading my friend.


For the past six months I´ve been hitchhiking everywhere I go, staying in the cheapest hostels I could find, camping in the wild, eating only basic but healthy food to ensure I don´t become anemic or sick, making local friends and then staying in their houses, volunteering everywhere I go in exchange of food/shelter and some other things I don´t dare to talk about outloud.

All of this only on Steemit earnings

Awesome, right? But not easy. Not easy at all.

Once you realize you are not made of glass and you can endure almost anything, life itself becomes a challenge and everything you do becomes an opportunity to improve yourself, to learn along the way, but most importantly, a different way to teach your inner self to enjoy life at its fullest only relying on your own abilities and living with only the basic needs being covered.

But don´t fool yourself. It gets tiring.


It is stressful to travel with no more than $30 US in your pocket at any given time. Not knowing where you´ll sleep the next day or if you´ll eat tonight is no easy task for the weak of mind - which I was, and still am, but I try to keep strenghtening my mind every day- and at some point you think Ok, I need a break.

I had a gun held to my head once; a machete met my neck one time; I slept in parks more than once; I was broke in a Country where I didn´t speak the language; I had to engage in practices I didn´t want to - nothing illegal, my dear Interpol, in case you are reading -; I ended up in the hospital with a possible broken back; I got lost in mountains all by myself and found a way out by mere chance; I was almost sexually assaulted. Some of these adventures you can read about in my blog, some of them I didn´t want to write about and I never will.

But I loved it. I loved each and every experience I had because you know what? They made me who I am today.

But it is time to rest.

For good? NO. Of course not!

I am taking only two months back home to have My well deserved holidays.

Yes, being back home to a normal life is my kind of holiday.

What´s next, Nomad?


  • First of all, planning the next adventure. If you think my blog was good, imagine how it is going to be 2018: Eastern Europe, Russia, and South East Asia. Of course it is not going to be your regular travel blog, but I'll keep adventuring and exploring around, testing my limits and putting myself in dangerous situations on purpose.

  • Learning about crypto. I am going to teach myself through vlogs and articles all I can learn about this world and I´m going to become the best nomad cryptotrader you´ve ever met.

  • Improve my German. A year ago I started to learn German. I was still doing it on the road but there´s no better way to learn it than with proper lessons from a proper teacher.

  • Yoga. Yeah, as simple as that.

  • My book. I haven´t writen a chapter in months. I used to love doing that,, I just didnt´have time.

  • For the next two months my blog will be about personal ideas and how I think about life.

  • Dedicating my time to help out in @lince, @ocd, @sndbox, @steemitworldmap, @votu and @steembay.

But most importantly, spending time with loved ones. I´ll be abroad for another year and I want to make the most of my time with them.


After this time back home, I´ll return to my odissey around the world.

Oh, and of course, I´ll...

Remember, be Here Now

Sort:  

I feel ya... I traveled the United States for about 7 years.. working here and there... living in my van... I had so much fun and wouldn't trade the experience for anything... but sometimes you just need to take a break from it to really enjoy it..

Exactly man, it is like a rollercoaster... If you are always falling you stop appreciating it, but sometime, to have the best fall, you need to spend some time going up :D Oh wow, 7 years accross de US? That is amazing! I want to do the Pacific Crest Trail at some point, that would be awesome!

I've hiked a bunch of sections on the PCT. It's awesome! Your thinking about attempting a thru-hike? It's pretty tough, but I bet you could do it. Your already used to traveling with minimal supplies, so it's not a huge leap to see you doing that same thing, but way out in the mountains.

Oh hell yeah man, the one thru-hike accross the PCT. A heavy backpack and a lot of water :P I heard there are some towns in the trail, or very close so I think re-supplying shouldn´t be that difficult huh? But I guess that would take away the sense of adventure, I have to do more research!

There are tons of good spots for resupply. The more you resupply the lighter your pack, so it's quite common for thru hikers to go miles out of their way in order to have more resupply's so their pack can be lighter. A thru hike of the PCT takes a lot of research. Over 2,600 miles of trail to research. There are some good guidebooks out there. I have the two books for southern and northern California. I haven't done any sections in Oregon or Washington... yet.

I must admit, travelling can get tiring but it beats going to a proper ‘job’

Hey fellow adventurer! You are so right, I wouldn´t trade my adventures for a proper job lol sorry for replying so late, I went through your profile to make amends :P

All just on Steemit earnings!? Wow, that is so freakin' cool. Enjoy your time at home and by the time the 2 months is over you'll be fully recharged and ready for more great adventures.

I know man! It was so hard at some parts of the trail but it worked out... Exactly! This is just a resting time, not a setback :D

I know what you mean. I travelled for a year and while it's not the same as being home and going to a regular job everyday, it can still be stressful because you can never really let your guard down. That said, none of the bad shit you listed here happened to me.

I look forward to what you're doing next though. It does sound very cool

Exactly, it is a different kind of stress but still, it is stress and people think it is just a walk in the park for a year right?
I am so thankful with you, you never fail to stop by <3

I'll be on the lookout for your adventures. Kisses and hugs @anomadsoul.

Actually, there is no better way to learn a foreign language than to be in a situation where you have to use it... all the time. I know from learning Danish. So if you want to learn German, add some time in Germany to your plans. ;-)

I actually want to spend a month in Germany before hitting the road for real! But I want to arrive already being able to speak a bit more :)
Wow, Danish? That is amazing and so different to what I know, I have some Danish friends and I find the language very beautiful (altough I prefer to listen to finish).
Thanks for dropping by @bex-dk
And now Im wondering if the dk in your username has something to do with Denmark lol

Yes, I live in Denmark but I am technically an American. Bex is usually too short as a username so I added the dk to it at some point. I've been here more than 19 years, so am mostly fluent, although I have trouble with people from other parts of the country because I'm not used to the accent and I never lost my own accent. Maybe you can find a tutor you can pay with SBD and talk to over a kind of voice chat?

Love your lifestyle though I have to admit I wouldn't have the guts and persistence to do that, I will miss the basic luxuries too much! It is much easier to read someone else's dream....

Cherish the quality time with your loved ones these two months.

I traveled for 3.5 years through Asia (well some parts) but stayed in one place at a time for at least a few weeks and that was already stressful enough lol. I have great respect for you man, and a little jealous too :) But soon enough...we'll be traveling again too :) (now with kids which makes it a bit harder, but also more interesting) <3

Hey @anomadsoul!
I know how you feel... I was traveling 1 year in LatinAmerica ;-)
Good luck and enjoy your "vacation" ;-)
Big hug
Lucas (and Steemitri The Mannequin)

Nice Thought

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00