Day 2 of my Reboot Story

in #freedom7 years ago

Hello Steemit

I've made it through another day today. It's funny how these things go. Addictions work with habits; you develop a bad habit and then you just keep doing it until you can't go without it. I've noticed that in the past whenever I decide to do a reboot, the first couple of days are usually pretty easy. Today is no exception since I've not thought about relapsing even once. I still feel strong and committed to this reboot, but I know that temptation will come; it is inevitable. It is the way sin is designed.

James 1:13-15 says:

13 When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; 14 but each person is tempted when they are dragged away by their own evil desire and enticed. 15 Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.

You can bet your next pay cheque on it that temptation will come whether you are addicted to something or not. I have got to do a better job of recognizing when temptation hits and side stepping it or acting on some pre-planned action of some sort.

Verse 15 is also interesting to me. It basically describes the consequences of sin which is death. The Bible also says that the wages of sin is death. Nothing is more clear to me than those couple of verses! When I look at my life in its current state it is literally void of life. Most days I feel like an empty shell; like I'm just going through the motions of life without actually being present. It's a horrible way to live. Whatever fleeting pleasure results from giving into temptation pales in comparison to a purpose filled life full of joy.

I must start living at all costs.

Thank you Steemit.

Image Source
Sort:  

Congratulations @anewday! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@anewday

Better days are ahead. I can imagine your day 24 post

Congratulations @anewday! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64