You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Get ready for a new technology that will enable a truly free, peer-to-peer economy far better than blockchain ever can

in #freedom7 years ago

Thanks for sharing all of this information. Wow, it's so incredible what is happening with technology. This is amazing and it will be so interesting to watch what develops. I'd love to see Leemon and Larimer on the stage together having a discussion about Hashgraph and EOS. Can you imagine? As far as I can tell, they each purport to do the same thing, which is introducing increases in speed and security that are magnitudes greater than existing standards. Hashgraph also has this fairness and virtual voting. Wow.

The gossip about gossip protocol seems like a complete gamechanger. I feel like I have more understanding of Hashgraph than I do of EOS at this point after seeing this video, and I would love to hear how EOS could respond to the underlying faults that Leemon finds in blockchains in general.

Or, is EOS using the term "blockchain" in the manner that Leemon describes in this video, that is, as a substitute for "distributed ledger"? Is EOS also a whole new beast that really doesn't fit the traditional explanation of blockchain? What do you say, @dan?

Great stuff, what exciting times we are living in!

Sort:  

I think the point that Leemon is getting at is that Hashgraph is a completely different algorithm / data structure than blockchain at the very foundation of the distributed ledger applications that are being built. EOS is a distributed ledger application and is therefore far more than just a blockchain. What Leemon suggests is that if these applications like EOS are modular enough, then you could swap out the blockchain algorithm at the foundation for a Hashgraph algorithm. This is already happening with Lykke. They are implementing Hashgraph at the core of their architecture as far as I'm aware. Regarding EOS, I have some separate concerns about EOS, that you can read here.

I appreciate your prompt response and insight. Do you have a good source to read more about this Lykke-Hashgraph marriage?

Looking forward to digging into your EOS concerns also. I've been high on it, but want to stay tempered and educated on both sides of the coin.

Here is the only link that I have seen on it from Lykke. I don't know anything else at this point beyond what they've described in their short summary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42