You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Kind of Dad I Want to Be (Being afraid that you are not doing "good enough" can make you do worse in any arena, including parenting.)

in #freedom7 years ago

Daoism is what this post reminds me of. Im not one, although I have a certain attraction to it. You are what you are, accepting it will make your life much easier. Self doubt is a decision to not accept yourself. Look, I'm a father too, I could be more gentle at times, More understanding, more easy going... On and on. Sometimes that isn't our strong points. Its alright. Our wives/girlfriends have an expectation that may be impossible, some fantasy. Your goal is to raise your children as best you can, no one is perfect. The hardest thing is to let go of your worries and know you will contribute something to your kid no one can. Your an intelligent guy that knows far more about the world than most ever will. When the time is right and your kid questions his/her very existance, there will be no one in reach that could possibly lay it out like you. Good luck bro, do your best and there is no regret.

Sort:  

Wow man. Thanks so much for the kind words. I really appreciate what you said there at the end especially, and from one father to another, let's go on in peace and non-perfectionism.

Yeah man, I lived in Japan for 7 years as a military brat, why I followed you actually. Yokota Air Base. I miss Japan, but most of all it's people. A mind opening experience to be in another culture as honorable as Japan. When I was a teen, Chu-hi was an awesome beverage, maybe it's too sweet as I like whisky nowadays, I sent you some steem have one on me.

Thanks! I will do that tonight! ;)

I am a whisky/beer guy myself, but do enjoy a nice chu-hi now and then. Not familiar with Yokota, I'll have to check that out.

Right on man. Can't buy those in the U.S. by the way.

It's a suburb of Tokyo, not much excitement there to be honest. It's basically in Fusa City.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47