Sort:  

Thank you, great article. It seems that Securus Technologies just messed with everyone. During researching this I have to admit I was thanking my partner the whole time. He is a stickler about turning our locations off and doing things to out cell phones that he use to say will protect us (like covering the camera lens) and I use to get annoyed at him, but now I understand what he has been doing. I read somewhere during this that they can sometime track you without the cell even begin on. Scary thought to me.

I'm not suprised that our phones are trackable. I'm more suprised that the government would allow something so sensitive to be in the hands of a private company all in the name of "profit"

BTW the GPS doesn't have to be on, the article doesn't mention GPS. Only cellphones.

It seems quora says its possible.
https://www.quora.com/Can-a-cellphone-be-tracked-when-its-turned-off

You know, it did not really surprise me that a profit was being made and nothing was done about that.

No GPS does not have to be on and to be honest even if you turn it off...it is not really off. Phones are nothing more than a tracking device.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69947.15
ETH 3908.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71