New on Steemit ... and full of questions.

in #freedom7 years ago (edited)

When a friend on Reddit told me about steemit, I was a bit wondering.

Since I work into IT, the concept was clear, so I don't wonder because a blockchain is used to deliver kinda forum. I love the idea: I was a BBS geek in the early '90,  then a Usenet/IRC guy, then... then Facebook, Twitter and others killed the magic. 

And I realized that the issue is not WHO controls news, the problem is that, control itself is bad. I am not a big fan of trolls (If I was, I had 4/8/whateverchan already) so Is not I am into a free-speech fundamentalism. In the other side, I keep asking myself, what happens if twitter decides I must disappear?

So now I am here and I love it. I've read some FAQ, and I only have some questions, like....

  1. Is there a way to block a user? (this would solve the issue of trolls/stalking/harrassment)
  2. Is there a way to create "private" spaces, or in general to restrict the audience?

if only both of answers were like "yes" , well... here is my Internet again. :) :) 


Sort:  

Welcome to steemit,

  1. I have been flagged down by whales two times.
    You can scroll down my https://steemit.com/@chrisaiki/comments to have a look at the results
  2. you can use steem.chat or discord to speak about specific subject.
    They are working on private messaging i guess..

Hi Chris,

what you mean with "flagged down by whales"?

P.S: thanks for welcoming.

The whales are the people who own a large amount of Steem Power. Their votes have more weight than ours. They can flag your post and it almost disappear. The text become clearer and their is a post saying that it has little interest.

funny. So I wait for the next version with different payoff to be released.... LOL.

maybe that is why my recent posts come and go quickly from the feed even though nothing new shows up.... hmmmmm I will keep on reading. Thank you for the tip.

Welcome to Steemit. Stephen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97