Sort:  

How do you mine pennies?
I need a Ryedale I have like 20# or more that needs sorted

I have a Ryedale, I used to go around to different banks and buy as many boxes of pennies as they would sell me, I had a number of accounts at different banks so every day I would go to a different town and buy boxes, you can't really hit a branch more than once a week and most places won't sell you more than 4 boxes at a time but I would usually be able to get $600 in pennies in a good day, and that is about as much as the suspension in the car I was driving at the time would support. What is funny is that people only really buy pennies when the price of copper is above about $4, if they were smart they would buy them when they are cheap but people are not smart.

Yes I do it full time but not nearly as intensively as you :D
If I had an automated sorter, I'd prolly do a lot more of it and just keep turning over the zinc ¢ent$ hehee

It's been a while since i was serious about it. What got me going was seeing a high spot price, i learned that for people to actually buy them you want the copper spot to be above $4
http://www.kitcometals.com/charts/copper_historical_large.html
Then you can easily sell $100 lots of pennies for sometimes more than $200 each, I got $225 before. With it like it is right now I bet they are going for less than $150. Probably better to just buy them while they are cheap right now than to mine your own and then sell them when copper is higher.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/10000-Copper-Pennies-100-Face-68-Pounds-Penny-Bullion-1959-1982-Free-Ship/323628503706?hash=item4b59c3129a:g:xF8AAOSwvapcKRDA:rk:7:pf:0
$155 shipped!

If you don't have a sorter you can just buy boxes and weigh them and determine almost exactly how many are copper and how many zinc and then just take back the lousy boxes and/or keep the boxes that are all mint and resell those.

yeah the weight ratios are very clear,
I did the math and all Zinc is like 180-something to the pound,
but all copper is like 141 pennies to the pound. From Memory,
son't slay the messenger LOL

The key to all of it is the flat rate boxes, you can put $100 in a medium flat rate box, it is 68 lbs and the boxes go up to 70.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.01
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66