The start of my dream & Promoting GRC

in #freecomputing7 years ago (edited)

I had written in my introduction article about some plans I have for building up my future mining/research farm and promoting Gridcoin within my general area. First I would like to say I love the idea of mass computing from the general public helping universities, scientific and medical communities, its brilliant. Now what if we could capitalize on that going the other way. The more exposure the public receives the more widely used GRC will become, now what if we could put GRC into the hands of low income people interested in acquiring a free computer, and I mean no offense to anyone. Please let me explain how the plan comes into action and thoughts behind it.

I have been frequenting the second hand shops lately looking for old laptops and towers to be put to work crunching, when I do find them I have noticed they are pretty unreasonably priced to be affordable to someone who can barely afford to feed themselves or their family, especially for a machine that may or may not work, chances are they are not going to have the money to fix said computer either. Well I'am starting a recycling company within my area refurbishing computers, and offer them to people in need for free, completely donation based company. I am not sure how yet but I will. My plan is still young, there are a lot of variables.

With the way the world is moving electronically, governments deeming internet a necessity, and the plans of a certain company to launch low orbit satellites to offer world wide internet access I believe this to be a great opportunity to capitalize on something like this, at the same time offering people a currency they didn't need to do anything to set up, also giving them internet access at home for those conveniences not everyone has. I realize crunching on such a small scale does not generate much, so that means GRC must launch too the moon, lol, and I realize I'm a dreamer but it is the start of my plan. The start of my mining/research farm and the start of a great future of possibilities. The mining has already begun in my basement, I have a few more computers being set up and a few more to fix and set up. Most will be crunching Boinc... and some will start mining some newer POR/POS setups, or other opportunities that come about.

There are other plans in play, ideas being thrown around and so on that I just can not share with you at the moment. I mean what would I write about later!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @metalmonkey! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52