AN EXCELLENT BYPRODUCT FROM WORKING!!!

in #free4 years ago

Who likes Hickory?

We had to take down a beast of a Hickory tree the other day for work, and while the major wood was going for firewood, the branches were going to be discarded, so I had them discarded here. With all of the meat smoking that we've been enjoying, I thought some Hickory would be great. My goal is to cut it into pieces and load it onto some pallets for storage. Soo, I hope to actually get a better little "hot-smoker" built, and then eventually a full-blown smokehouse!

FREE HICKORY BRANCHES

BONUS LINKS

We just released our second book ever, "ARMADILLO ESCAPE" - a children's book that was the effort of three generations of our family, from @grandpa-pepper all the way down to Pinkie-Pepper. We're excited about it, so here's some links for you to check out in case you're interested. Thanks!

ORDER A COPY FROM OUR HOMESTEADER'S CO-OP STORE

ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY

ORDER ON AMAZON

Until next time…

Make today special!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

Sort:  

Smoked fish is a Dutch standard yummy.... makes me hungry thinking about that!! Nice haul!!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

I completely relate, from the standpoint of a woods-preservationist, as hickory is one of the best woods for smoking, period.

One of the reasons why I wanted our current place was the presence of several mature shagbark hickory trees, which I've wanted since the 70s, but have never lived near before.

I've since become expert in making hickory syrup. And I guarantee that mine is better than the commercial entries on the market.

No, I don't make as much, by quantity. Yes, mine is of superior quality. And will remain so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00