Stay Cheap Internet!

in #free7 years ago


Cyanide and Happiness

Stay Cheap Internet

I love Cyanide and Happiness, and I really like yesterday's comic :)

They definitely accurately capture the attitude that many people share on the internet, including myself. I personally hate spending money in general, and I will rarely spend money on digital goods. I actually appreciate advertisers, because I would rather watch an ad or have to close out of a pop up than pay to watch a video or read an article. The way I see it, every ad I see is money back into my pocket $$

I'm not sure if this is a trend in the new generation, or if people have always been cheap. I have only experienced the past 19 years on earth, so I cannot say one way or the other. That said I think there is evidence that it is a trend that is stronger in the new generation that I am apart of.

Think about paintings. Paintings are expensive. Tangible paintings and graphics in frames and on canvases for your walls aren't cheap. Now think about the internet. People post copious digital graphics and photographic work on Deviant Art, Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, BeHance, Steemit, YouTube etc. And they are stunning. Many people have heard of Justin Maller. He puts his work on his website knowing that people are free to download it. Of course, some of the work on Justin's website was professional work which he was surely compensated for, but there are many others like Beeple Crap that post their work freely.

Don't get me wrong, I love the trend of free content online. It's interesting though to see how many people post their content online and expect nothing in return. A painter would never give away a free painting. That would break the newspaper (instead of break the internet, get it? I'll hang myself).

Great comic by C&H, if you haven't checked out their stuff, I recommend their YouTube Channel. A lot of funny stuff, and some wtf stuff. Its the internet. The weird stuff in C&H only scratches the surface of the internet though. Check out Happy Tree Friends if you want to go deeper. Viewer discretion advised...

Upvote if you liked it!
Follow if you loved it.
Stay cheap Internet.

Sort:  

I look at this from a opposite perspective. The person asking if the cupcakes are free represents the entitled attitude of millennials and the naive mindset that anything is actually free. Nothing is free

Congratulations @communist-hacker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69812.20
ETH 3376.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78