Digital friends (Facebook, Steemit) vs real life friends :A Simple Comparison

in #free6 years ago (edited)

Digital games and social media have drastically increased the number of friends we have. Some of us even boast of having 4K + friends on Facebook (and other social media platforms), visual friends on steemit , Linkedin, instagram and online games- even more than a normal human being can physically go out with for an evening cocktail . The definition of friends is highly contested , however for the purpose of this blog, I will define friend according to urbandictionary :

people who are aware of how retarded you are and still manage to be seen in public with you. people who make you laugh till you pee your pants. people who cry for you when one of your special items disappear. when you dont have enough money to get an ice cream, they chip in. knows all of your internet passwords. who would never make you cry just to be mean.

In reality, digital friends does not fully relate to the above definition of friends. The conundrum, however, is many people are turning towards taking their online friends more serious than their real life friends-here are some few points:

Pic Source

Blackmail from real life friends: Many people have been disappointed or blackmailed by their best or real life friends. Some have even blackmailed them professionally, cheated with their partners and or steal from their friends thus eroding trust. These factors have led to most people turning to their visual contacts in order to at least not feel lonely. Moreover some online friends have turned out to be the ones that helped when their friend is in financial and or emotional need.

Real Friends: For me, I can actually take a visual friend I met on steemit as my best buddy. Reason is that you can meet your soul mate anywhere in the world: someone that will be with you in good and bad times (vice versa). Someone you can trust as business partner, go out for a drink, meet up on holidays etc. Especially someone that qualifies to the true meaning of That’s what Friend are for by Dionne Warwick, Stevie Wonder, Whitney Houston, Luther Vandross “That’s What Friends Are For " watch the video below (wow)

Source.

Conclusion: True friends can come from any source, color, religion, geography and race. The main thing, however, is for an individual to open his mind and accept someone who want to be his/her true friend without being blinded by cynicism, racism, geography, beauty or class. In fact, sometimes, people who are far away can make you feel better than those beside you.

Do you agree? Send in your comments, resteem in order for others to join and upvote to send in your support.

Click here and read my former post: Why My Confidence Is In Steem Ecosystem Even Though Crypto´s are Bleeding

An Advert for a top new crypto www.elyte.io

White List / Crowdsale: We are planning a big payout/Bonus for all those who bought elyte tokens ( this will be calculated in percentage ie the more you buy, the more tokens you will receive). However we will pay only those who bought from our crowdsale ( see link https://main.elyte.biz/?page_id=433 ) and filled the white list form (not from exchanges).
Bounty: we will pay bounty winners before the end of next week (so keep sharing and applying see link https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeOcKUUoTU6IKr1qX5osYaWMdVL8-nB5RmroYtYBir6YYof9A/viewform ) however only those that bought from our crowdsale (see rule 7) and filled the white list form.
Good News / New Location: Cryptocurrencies are fraught with scams ie many projects hide their teams profile / locations thus no real / registered address. Elyte´s main goal is trust and to build trust and confidence from investors, we´ve indicated our real identities on our website and white paper. We have gone even further to being officially registered in the financial city of the world: London ( remember we are Elyte !!!) I hereby refer you all to details section of elyte.io for elyte´s new location, office address and CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION https://main.elyte.biz/?page_id=621
Thus this will add confidence and improve trust among future investors (feel free to visit our crowdsale , buy and join our white list before its too late).
We are Hiring: We will make changes to our team this month in order to add top professionals that are better qualified to implement our project and better serve our community members.
We are hiring apps and blockchain developers including digital marketers –pls see career section of our website for job openings https://main.elyte.biz/?page_id=169.
Feel free to share this information with all your contacts. On behalf of elyte team, I Wish you all a blessed weekend.

Sort:  

@charles1 Be careful of who you allow in your life. Choose wisely and you will be happiest.

Hahahah I am indeed very careful..but you never know

As a young lady, I avoid making online friends now due to my parents restrictions. However I do have some great real life friends and agree that friends can come from anywhere including online and offline...thanks a lot for your educative posts

True friends are very hard to find but we must try although baseball is in the real world may exist in cyberspace. But it's really hard to adapt as a new beginner in the steemit world, I'm new to steemit then No one can survive in steemit without any help friends. With friendship, we can help each other, and for those of us who are still weak, look for a good friend, who is ready to help you anytime. Good night mr @charles1, may God always bless you. I am @junsusukhairi from Indonesia (Aceh) a newcomer to the world of steemit. If you wish I want you to look at my post, and if you like it please give upvote. I would be grateful for that.

welcome to steemit and more success to you.

thanks a lot mr @charles1 for upvote in my post, really I am very grateful because among the people who just me just follow you who want to vote my other posts just like robots. I almost give up and have been a bit lazy to post on my blog in steemit, instead of giving up but new people join in steemit really very difficult to get a friend who would just see the post let alone to vote, when I try to make my post as interesting as possible by using photos and discuss them into two languages ​​instead there is no upvote but when I just post just use the usual photographs without any effort to discuss even that in upvote. How to confuse this steemit !!!

To succeed in steemit, you have to blog smart!!! take out time and read my old blog posts for tips..I wish you success

I will follow your advice mr @charles1 by reading the old posts you have posted to try to understand the true meaning of steemit in order to be a motivation for me. Little by little so the hill, with effort and hard work surely sustenance will follow us (what we planted that we learn)

Great and more success to you.

I can only say thank you very much, from the many friends in steemit just you @charles1 who responded positively and encouraged me. Really I can not repay your good service. Thank you very much

You are welcome...keep steeming to more success

Online friends can be just as good or better than IRL ones

I agree with you my dear one @chelsea88 , thanks for your comment

I totally agree that true friends can come from many places ! Great post @charles1 ! most of my friends are on line !👍😀

Welcome...Sleep well

I have around 3k friends on facebook and around 5.6k followers on instagram but what's the use if someday i don't have food or shelter social media frnds won't come up to me and say "well I'll provide you the both" so I think real life frnds are more and far better than social media frnds

Good point , however fro the 3K friends some will help you if they know that you are in need..therefore it depends on how and who you approach

This post has received gratitude of 7.96 % from @appreciator thanks to: @charles1.

Your definition of a "friend" made my day!

I have a slightly different view on this topic. I have a large network online but even though I care for them and I try to help them as often as I can, I only see those people as acquaintances and not as real friends. I feel I miss the real connection if I can't meet them in person.

I only have 3 real friends, but I consider a friend, a person who I can call at 3am in the night and no matter what happened he'll be there for me. All the other person are just acquaintances for me.

Thanks for your posts @charles1
I am reading each and every one of them!
Love that you always provide real value!

Let me know if I could help you in any way!
Cheers!

,Alin

Good point indeed and that is the defintion of a friend which you can get anywhere...

great blog Charles - good to see you kicking goals

welcome my budddy, nice to see you here

Impressive topic!

True friends can come from any source, color, religion, geography and race. The main thing, however, is for an individual to open his mind and accept someone who want to be his/her true friend without being blinded by cynicism, racism, geography, beauty or class. In fact, sometimes, people who are far away can make you feel better than those beside you.

I'm 100 % agree with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70