beware- the Yelp scam

in #frauds6 years ago

I just want to let everyone I can know about the Yelp scam. It is a solicitor, sanctioned by Yelp, to rip you off. For months they were calling our store and sending emails telling us how greatly they can increase our business. I finally gave in and decided to give it a try. I spoke with a representative named Rose Ryan. We spent a good hour talking about how great our store is and how she so wanted to make it even better. She offered a trial period the would go to February 1st, then they would start billing us. So I agreed to the trial period. I soon found out from the local business co-op here in town that it is a scam and I should get out of it ASAP. So I immediately called Yelp and and cancelled that account. The representative was courteous and did not give me any hassle. She then told me there was a pending balance of $23.00 for the time the account was active and we would be billed after February 1st. I informed her that this was supposed to be a trial period and that I was led to believe There would be no charges until February. She informed me flatly that that was not the case. After a few minutes of discussion, I decided that $23.00 was not worth my time to argue over, and ended the call. On February 2nd Andrea(my wife) informed me that $73.00 was taken out of our account. Being that that was on a Saturday, I decided to wait until today to inquire about this charge. I called Yelp and was informed that the extra $50.00 was for a $3.00 per day charge for an enhanced promotional that I supposedly signed up for. I informed that I never knowingly signed up for any enhanced promotional. The representative became indignant and said "Well we have the enhanced promo box checked on the application we submitted and they weren't going to do anything about it. I promptly assured her that I would be letting everyone I can about this scam. This post is the beginning. I'm sure there are similar scams like this in other servers like Google, Twitter, Facebook, etc.... So beware. This particular one is sanctioned by Yelp.

Sort:  

Sorry about the scam. I remember trying to get money back way back during the ISP wars.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77