This week I had my identity nicked.

in #fraud8 years ago

On Wednesday I was greeted by my postman who told me that there was a lot of post going to my old address in my name still, I moved out of my old flat nine months ago I sent to think that there was still post going there was a bit confusing. I opened the letter and to my horror there was a letter telling me that my new bank account had been set up with £1000 overdraft on it !!!!! I knew I had set up this account so I phoned the bank up to find out what been going on and lo and behold told that this account been set up a few days before hand if it had been me then it was a case of identity fraud and I had to get onto the metropolitan police. I left work and did just that and I was on the phone for nearly an hour what's the police and the fraud department went through everything that I knew and basically told me that yes I have been a victim of identity fraud. and to expect a lot more letters in my name for accounts that somebody had been trying to open. Apparently it will take the rest of the month to find out exactly how many thousands of pounds this person has racked up in debt in my name however another letter came today from Marks & Spencer bank stating that my loan had been successful! I shall keep you updated of what goes on in the next few weeks and if we get to find out who this person was I doubt that will ever happen however I'm keen to know more.

Sort:  

That's awful, i hope you manage to get it all sorted soon. and welcome to steemit.

Hi Phoneixmaid 0 Thank you ! I think i've done all I can to sort it now its just a case of waiting to see how much they got before I caught it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62