You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flamboyant Frangipani.

in #frangipani6 years ago

The question of how many frangipani (or plumeria) species there are is actually quite a contentious one. Some gardening experts say there are only 2, and all others are subspecies or hybrids. Others say 3, 4 or more.

As this article is for the everyday gardener to help them identify what type of frangipani they have seen, not for the scientist or expert, I'll describe the four main types of frangipani or plumeria that you are likely to find in your garden or local nurseries.

Plumeria Rubra
plumeria rubraThe most common frangipani is the Plumeria Rubra. Rubra come in many colours, from white to cream to yellow, even oranges, pinks (both pale and hot pink), reds and even deep cerise. They also come in multiple colours (such as pink, apricot and yellow in the one flower). And Rubra has the most fragrant flowers!

The flowers themselves have medium sized, oval shaped petals (always 5 of them) which are joined tightly at the base. The flower starts as a long tube, then the petals slowly unwrap and open to form the frangipani flower we all know and love.

plumeria rubraThe leaves from a Plumeria Rubra are long and oval and have quite a pointed end. The leaves are quick to drop off as the winter coolness approaches.

A Plumeria Rubra can grow to 5m tall and almost as wide.

I've been following you for three or four months.Sometimes I've won your awards.But My Account and my money were stolen. I got it back after three weeks.Now I can't share photos.I'm waiting for your support.Because I want to go on in this community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59162.63
ETH 2534.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47