Dying Suns Variations, making a fractal composite.

in #fractal6 years ago (edited)

image.png


In my last post I showed you how the fractal "Dying Suns" was made. Things never truly stop with fractals, you can always take one more step and go a bit further.

So, I tried changing some of the transformations that make up that fractal. I chose one of my favorite variations julia which, to put it shortly, transforms the picture in a circular pattern, with repeating shapes and twirls. I deliberately put a high relative strength to this transformation over the others, to make its effect more prominent. Check the comparison below with low and high julia strengths (strength of 10 vs. 66):
image.png
image.png
2.jpg

You can see how it gets more texture and detail, right? I put that one in hold and started working on my original "Dying Suns" fractal again.

One of the main transformations was "auger," the effect of the repetitive sun distorting and echoing towards the right of the picture. I reduced that effect a lot and inserted a new variation: boarders2 -- it is hard to explain what it does, because in this case it is blended with 2 other variations, but in general it produces a "checkerboard"-like effect. I also increased the julia strength again and put some more noise to cover the empty spaces at the edges:

image.png

I also had a working step of the original fractal with a prominent auger effect:

image.png

So I put them all together, changed their orientations, opacity and color blending.
image.png


And here is the final result, a composite of Dying Suns Variations.
1.jpg

Dying Suns, Composite of Variations

by @nyarlathotep

A fractal made in JWildFire

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the process.
Already said that, but you get great results with fractals.

I've already seen people posting random stuff they obtain with them, but obviously, as any other graphic picture, they require work and thinking to be striking.

In that you succeed :)

Yes, i deliberately try to go a step beyond the simple random results, sites are full of them in every colors and shape. I am glad and happy that you noticed that difference, thank you!

That's the work and intent put in a piece that makes the artist, not the final result... And that's why I think you are one even if you said you didn't see yourself as an artist ;)

When skills are here, then the work produces result that reflects the artist's being... And skilled, you definetely are in your domain.

I'm glad you made me open my eyes on this technique. I won't try it for the same reason than @thermoplastic : not enough time to explore everything, and it seems you've found a rich path to visit :D

this is wild - way beyond me ..... guess an old dog does not easily learn new tricks, lol. Barely got enough time to do my "regular" studio work, so I earmark this for my next life.
upvoted and resteemed

So many things to do, so little time! Thanks for the comment and support.

I love it, these are very wonderful and organic as if they move through iterations as if they were alive .... so they finally arrive at their final forms, and such wonderful composition! both in terms of light and colours <3

really nicely done, elder god nyarlathotep!!!

f'taghn~

Thank you, with fractals, it is always an endless exploration!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63