T.K.O.... A One Paragraph Fox Tale

in #foxtales6 years ago

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgnLM28JDCtV9MpvDc.jpeg

T.K.O....

"One!.." I heard the shout of the referee somewhere in my head as I tried to catch my breath again. The adrenalin in my veins made it difficult for me to do more than just maintain my balance. I was tired, but somehow I couldn't stop my body from moving. So I danced.. "Two!.." I watched Charlie, my opponent, stay on the ground without so much as a single movement. One part of me wished he wouldn't even try to stand up anymore... "Three!..." but the other, the sane part, worried that I'd hit him harder than was actually necessary. I knew I'd beat him soon as he hit the floor in the previous round. "Four!.." still, I had pummeled him mercilessly, again, and again, and again... until now. Now he just lay still, and quiet... Then somehow as I danced, everything else faded. I only saw Charlie, his still body.. while somewhere in my head, faint numbers echoed... "Five..!"... "Six..!"... "Seven...!"... Then I saw it, that slightest of movement. I saw it just before everything else returned.. I saw Charlie lift his head up and look at me. I saw the blood drip from his brow, his eyes.. even his mouth. But the look he gave me, that look.. it told me all that mattered. And though I knew I'd beaten him, I was in no doubt as to who had truly won. Suddenly, I became conscious of everything again... "Ten!"...

THE END

#SladenSpeaks


Written for @vermillionfox's Fox Tales Contest

Picture Source: @vermillionfox


PhotoGrid_1512368798160.jpg

Sort:  

Powerful. i suppose they might have been friends.
Lots to take away... Sometimes, human connectedness matters even more than the competition for glory.

True... I didn't know the direction I wanted to take it to at first. But it seemed I made a good choice.

Thanks for reading. How have you been?

I wonder if Charlie would have thought the same if it was the other way around.

Who knows? A case of vestehen...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seesladen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This reminded me of how nervous I used to feel while watching fights but I cringe less now. Great story! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66