Stone dead... A One Paragraph Fox Tale

in #foxtales5 years ago

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn4WLwcSg9G2PgGsY.jpeg

"He's dead..." The words fell out of the doctor's mouth like cold hard drops of rain on a work morning. Its effect both painful and cold, it was felt throughout the small room where we all gathered. I looked at mother. She sat across from me, her hands folded in fists, one atop the other. Both, a resting place for her set jaw. "We tried our best, but..." The doctor's sympathetic speech faded into the background as I continued to focus on mother. I admired her steeliness, her calm.. She didn't even move, as if she had been stung by a numbing insect. Her disheveled hair and unkept look made her worthy of sympathy. And if I didn't know I would also have pitied her. But I knew, I saw... I know it was mother who had poisoned father... And somehow, I envied her...

THE END...

#SladenSpeaks


Written for @vermillionfox's Fox Tales Contest


IMG_20180330_182753_706.jpg

Sort:  



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

This is just a woven masterpiece of sorrow and relief. In such a tight word count, you have so many amazingly lines, I could quote far too many of them, but just this first bit of story

The words fell out of the doctor's mouth like cold hard drops of rain on a work morning

it just carries the chilling impact of the words so very well <3 There is so much emotion in the face of this woman, and i spent a lot of time pondering the mixture of a distant gaze, sorrow and acceptance, and the story you have chosen to tell conveys every aspect of that so well. You are such a master of prompt fulfilment (which reminds me, I am bringing my contest back and sincerely hope you will make it with a beautifully long story for me <3) everything about this is so well put together, the detail of her set jaw just conveying both the picture, and so much emotion. Everything you write is such a pleasure to read!

Oh Cal... Everytime you comment, it's much more than just a pleasurable read. It warms the heart

And of course I will.😍

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Ohhhh, love how dark this turned out to be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74