Not so deep observationssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #foster6 years ago

I look at the children that currently reside in my home and I wonder... What will happen in their life going forward? Will they be forever scared by what has happened in their past? Or will they find a way to put the past behind them and have a future full of love, hope, magic, and beauty? A few are younger children. Do they grasp what has really happened, and does it terrify them in the night while they sleep? Will what you do for them now, make a difference in their life in 10, 20 or 30 years, when it's time for them to make an impact on their own children? Or will it only be a chance meeting as if we were the gas station attendant or the clerk at the store? When the average stay for children in "the system" is at 19 months, is that really enough time to make that impression? Or is the long lasting effects really moot, and it's all about NOW and what we can do for them, which, while being oh so important, is so fleeting.

Sort:  

Hello @domesticbliss

I've resteemed and followed you. I would love to talk with you about this subject. My goal is to make a Foster and Temporary safety parents support group.
For right now I want to tell you that Yes, it does make a difference.
My oldest foster boy was unresponsive when we got him at 7 weeks old. We thought he was blind and deaf and slowly through lots of love and care he started repsonding. He's now a year old and crawling around, laughing, eating, chatting away and very close to starting to walk. He is delayed by 6 months but the happiest little guy you ever saw. :)

For a baby, the brain's ability to form new neuron pathways is improved with constant positive input which enables them to thrive in life.

Don't give up! Every bit counts.
Much love
Gretha

Hello @grethaventer ! These thoughts came on me the other night while I was talking with one of my girls. During my Foundations Training one of the instructors actually told EVERYONE in the class that we are no more than clerks in a grocery store to these kids... They interact with us while they are here, but once they are in the car on the way home, they stop ever thinking about us. I found that an extremely sad and fatalistic view of what we do. I can only hope that what I do will have a positive impact later, and give them something grounded to think back on...

I think your idea of a group is a good one. A place where foster parents can get help with what they do advice on situations, and learn to be better at our chosen vocation. We do need these groups so much!

Emily ( @domesticbliss )

Hi Emily,
What an incredibly sad and cynical view indeed. Keep doing what you are doing. Kindness and acceptance always sticks somewhere in the mind and heart. It is making a difference in the lives of the children that we care for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88