Is Fortnite BR The LAST of Its Kind? Opinion Piece

in #fortnite6 years ago

So before I start I just want to put my opinion upfront. I believe that Fortnite BR will most certainly be the last of its kind. Here's why.

I remember first seeing battle royal from a mod on ARMA. I thought that the concept was pretty interesting and the gamer's that streamed it seemed to have gotten a lot of interaction with their viewers. As much as I wanted to try it; I didn't because the game was pretty clunky at the time and I didn't have the patience.

My first Battle Royale experience was was with H1Z1, I originally bought the game to play the survivor experience but was quickly addicted to the BR experience instead. Then my next experience was with PUBG and while I sort of enjoyed the game I felt that it was missing some mechanics. It became slow and boring waiting for people to come out of their camped buildings and became even more of a grind crawling on my stomach at the last circle.

Then Fortnite BR came out and the mechanics seemed smooth and the action was quick. There was also another unique aspect....the building...Finally I felt like developers did something right. Having a build function introduced to an already fast-paced game made every engagement fierce and competitive and I think that is something they got right.

Lastly, here is why I think it will be last of its kind. Gamer's attention span isn't what it used to be and people get tired of the same genre being pumped out under a different name. I believe that with Fortnite's huge success and couple that with the past iterations of the BR experience, anything new will just feel like a company is trying to hop on the trend train. Fortnite BR will in my opinion be the last, but I want to know what you guys think?

Will this be it for BR?

What other iterations of BR would you try?

Is this the last popular BR to exist?

Thanks everyone! I look forward to your thoughts.

Mr Savage Raider

Sort:  

I think you're right that this is the last BR. I'd like to try something like 4 teams of 25 each with various jobs assigned to complete within those teams. Maybe a heavily armored front line protecting a team of engineers that build for the assault team to come in and destroy. Maybe have a demolition team as well?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48