You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Fork! How Do Newbies Survive

in #fork7 years ago (edited)

I'm not going to explain exactly what is going to happen because I'm sure others can do it much better than I can. But what I will tell you is what I'm planning on doing. Tomorrow Bitcoin may fork into two coins (meaning one will continue on its current path and one will fork off, like a road, with new improvements). Everyone who's holding BTC in a wallet they have the keys to will be receiving an equivalent amount of the new Bitcoin (Bitcoin Cash), as they have in Bitcoin. Basicaly this is "free money."

I don't believe that it will be this way though. For the market to remain stable, either Bitcoin or the new Bitcoin Cash will have to drop so that the bunch of new coins introduced will be able to stay even in the market. I am currently not holding any bitcoin and my plan is to see which coin will prevail (you will have to stay alert after the coins split), and invest on the dip with fiat currency I'm currently holding in a market place. If you are holding Bitcoin though, move them to a wallet you have the private keys to. In my opinion, if you want to profit from this, forget the "free coins" unless you are looking to hold for the long term and believe that the new coin can prevail with time and invest in Bitcoin or Bitcoin Cash (even both) when and if it dips. Good luck everyone!

If you aren't aware yet, STAY AWAY from keeping your BTC in exchanges and places like Coinbase, most of them are not offering the coins when the fork happens!

I also wrote an article about this earlier: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@ashland3000/not-holding-btc-my-thoughts-and-plan-for-august-1st

Sort:  

Thanks a lot @Ashland3000
This was very helpful for me and I'm sure others who may read this!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64