Book of proverbs (Plus bonus proverbs) - Introduction Post

in #forgodsglory6 years ago (edited)

Anyone who's anyone has heard the name King Solomon, whether it be in a Church sermon, the latest Hollywood film or even around the dinner table. People know who he was. Quite rightly, the bible tells us he was at the time (I don't know if it still applies now) the wisest among all men, "And he spake three thousand proverbs: and his songs were a thousand and five." 1 Kings 4:32

I'll be sharing a few little 'nuggets' of wisdom from the book of proverbs everyday and I'll be adding a few of my own. I hope you'll follow as we go, they truly are little nuggets of wisdom.

Purpose and Theme:

1 The proverbs of Solomon son of David, king of Israel:
2 for gaining wisdom and instruction;
for understanding words of insight;
3 for receiving instruction in prudent behavior,
doing what is right and just and fair;
4 for giving prudence to those who are simple,
knowledge and discretion to the young—
5 let the wise listen and add to their learning,
and let the discerning get guidance—
6 for understanding proverbs and parables,
the words and riddles of the wise. Pro 1:1-6


King Solomon's
(Pro 1:7) 'The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge;
Fools despise wisdom and instruction.'

(Pro 2:1-5)
'1 My son, if you will receive my words
And treasure my commandments within you,
2 Make your ear attentive to wisdom,
Incline your heart to understanding;
3 For if you cry for discernment,
Lift your voice for understanding;
4 If you seek her as silver
And search for her as for hidden treasures;
5 Then you will discern the fear of the Lord
And discover the knowledge of God.'


My own
'He who fights with his neighbour injures his own soul.'

'The road less traveled is hard to find, but when you find it you'll know your own mind.'

'The quest for meaning and the explanation of existence share a common ancestor, in that they both come from God.'



source


Thanks for investing your time 😊 if you'd like to see more I'd invite you to

Join the Christian Curation Trail via https://steemauto.com/
U5dsfcuMaEDUSSTTVGmA5bTjQ2Y8G6D_1680x8400.png

Follow any/all of @Steemchurch @christian-trail @flamingbot @forgodsglory to have your Steemit feed filled with meaningful Christian content.

Sort:  

I read the whole bible once and am re-reading it. Thank you for this post and hope I will receive clarity when I read proverbs again.

Hi there, great to hear from you. I remember your post about a month ago about your bible journey starting second time around, it would be great to see more posts! I hope you get some benefit from following along 😊

Thank you for the nuggets. Some deep wisdoms here. :) God bless.

Thank you very much, all the glory is to the One who makes it possible 😊 God bless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33