Forex Trading Journal, May 30th 2017

in #forex7 years ago

Again, no new entry signal presents today, so no new trade. I just reviewed the two open positions I am holding now, and so I need to make some trade management decisions.

Apart from pinbar, there is another kind of candlestick formation which I will pay serious attention to. That is the false breakout from an inside bar formation. When one or more bars formed entirely within the range of high and low of a previous "parent" bar, we called it an inside bar formation. Then, if a bar followed break-out from the range of the parent bar, but move back inside the range and close within, we can call it a false break-out (or fakey as Nial Fuller put it). According to my understanding, this type of formation can be considered as a strong signal if it appears near some important SR levels. The market will probably move toward the opposite direction of the break-out.

image taken from learntotradethemarket.com

USD/JPY

I entered a short position last Friday, at the beginning of the third last bar. That bar then become a parent bar. Today's bar break-out from the parent bar's range, but now moved back inside the range. I will wait until end of today (it will be 5am tomorrow morning at my location), if the bar close higher than the low of Friday's bar, I will close this trade and take whatever profit I can get.

USD/JPY captured at Wednesday 1530 UTC+8

AUD/USD

I entered this trade last Thursday, after a long tail pinbar formed at the end Wednesday. Now, seems that an even more obvious false break-out is forming. If today's bar ends up close within the range of Friday's bar (i.e. the third last bar), then I will close this position.

AUD/USD captured at Wednesday 1530 UTC+8

Open trades

All remains the same:

pairspositonentry pricestop losstake profitrisk reward ratio
AUD/USDshort0.748170.752670.735151:2.89
USD/JPYshort111.767112.254110.6591:2.28

P/L since May 24th: -2R

I make all my trading decision based on the daily chart. Most of the positions will be entered at the beginning of a new trading day. I am at the UTC+8 timezone.

I will continue posting and will assign the #ygernforex tag to every trading journals I write in the future. So you may click on this tag to have all my journals. Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

From one forex trader to another, one of the ways to squeeze more money out of your trades is using cashback. Dont miss out on any opportunity to get as much cash out as possible! Don't have to commit but just take a look!
https://www.cashbackforex.com/en-us/home.aspx#aid_148844

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48