Cancelled My USD/JPY Forex Limit Order On Friday

in #forex6 years ago (edited)


On Friday, I had a great set-up on the USD/JPY. Again, since I'm a forex swing trader, this new strategy will allow me to get into more trades.
So, the set-up was the following:

Daily Chart (curve/range time frame) - daily candle in the middle of the curve, but price broke the recent pivot high (white dashed line).

4 Hr Chart (trend time frame) - the trend is up.

60 Min Chart (entry time frame) - the hammer candle (green circle around wick) indicated buy orders just below. But price never came back to my zone. The reason why I cancelled the trade is because if and when price returns to the zone, the uptrend might be over.

As I get some more chart time in using this strategy, because I want to be rule based, I will decide how many pips does price have to move away if order wasn't triggered before cancelling the order. In this example, price has already move 7X (70 pips) what I was willing to risk (10 pips) on trade.

My goal is to look for a minimum Reward:Risk of 5:1, which would imply I can lose 80% of my trades and still be profitable.

This post is my personal opinion. I’m not a financial advisor, this isn't financial advise. Do your own research before making investment decisions.


Published by Rolland Thomas
on

with SteemPress
https://mentormarket.io/rolland/cancelled-my-usd-jpy-forex-limit-order-on-friday/


Sort:  

Interesting chart to see where the interest rate differentials will lead over time as Japan remains low or even negative.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Agree, but it's the JPY is a safe haven, so when the Markets drop, so will the USD/JPY.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82