@thegearheadjohn introduceyourself

in #fordtrucks7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit - Years ago I was nick-named 'Gearhead John' by some dear friends. I kept the name.

I'm an introverted car guy, with a tech diploma, an engineering degree and an MBA that's tired of having useful content sorted into oblivion by social media. I'm on one of "those social media sites - for job seekers and networking" but I find their algorithm favours storytellers at best. I'm hoping this is more useful.

I have been making small circuit boards and soldering for 40 years, and I'm not 50 yet.
I'm a razor-sharp troubleshooter, maker and fixer of things. I am a great big nerd.

I'm here to blog, answer questions and help people with their older cars, primarily Ford Motor Company cars. The oldest car I have helped with is a 1934 Pontiac, the most expensive would be a Rolls Royce, E-Type Jaguar, Porsche or a Jensen Interceptor (Not quite sure). I have also fixed junk like timing belts and tensioners but as Golem from LOTR would say #IHatesIt.

Mustangii.net shut down so I'm migrating useful content here. People hate the Mustang II - hate all you like, but please do so elsewhere as I am trying to be helpful.

I have many Ford Motor Company Parts books and I'm generally happy to help people get to their goals.

If I ask a question and you circle a drawing and send it back to me with no answer I will stop communicating with you.

I have no formal affiliation with any firm but I'm happy to talk about many things.

Again, I have very specific interests and I am not going to buy anything from you or play games with you. Advertisements will be blocked and products boycotted to the best of my abilities. I do want an older set of used autobody hammers and dolly blocks to take dents out of my 1957 Mercury Pickup truck - but, as you can see, my interests are indeed specific. I would like to learn how to "Lead" (Pb) a crease in a fender or door the way it was done in the 1940's and 1950's.

I understand set theory and mathematics enough to know that MLM's are for people that don't understand set theory and mathematics - Please don't waste your keystrokes.

I have made the jump to fuel injection with a couple of old cars, and I enjoy the challenge - I also like carburetors and can help sort out issues with old nonsense... sometimes even new nonsense, so feel free to hit me up.

I'm very interested in learning more about modern electric vehicle drive systems, charge management systems and regenerative braking. If anyone knows how I can learn more about the guts of a #TeslaRoadster please plug me into that - I really need to drink from that fire-hose of information.

I am open to consider employment opportunities in Engineering or in Business as I have some credentials but not all the credentials that I would like to have. I do not work for free, or for a deeply discounted salary and vapourware shares. I live to hunt technical problems - I have some fun trophies to prove it.

That's all for now - Looking forward to connecting to the new leading edge of social media - thanks for reading this far.

-TheGearheadJohn

#MustangII #MercuryTruck #Fridge #Slick #FordFalcon #EV #ElectricVehicle #Canada #Engineering #MBA

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit thegearheadjohn. Best of luck to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59453.81
ETH 2607.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39