Free Wild Cherries for the PickingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #foraging7 years ago

If you're into wild foraging like me, now is the time to pick wild cherries.

Wild cherries are one of my favorite wild edibles to pick. It's also one of the most under utilizes wild edibles too!

This variety of wild cherries are called mazzard cherries. They are smaller then store bought and they come a variety of colors from red to almost black to blush.

The best time to find wild cherries trees is early in the spring. If you see white 5 petal flowers before the other trees leaf, you are probably looking at a wild cherry.

The bark is also very distinct with horizontal ridges.

Well, I hope you have luck finding them. I am off to pick some more.

Sort:  

Congratulations @trosanelli! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It’s nice to see a new forager here on Steemit! You had a good point about looking along the edges of open spaces. There can be a lot of interesting plants and good foraging there! Enjoy those cherries and welcome to Steemit!

You have been upvoted and resteemed by the Foraging Trail, a SteemTrail project. You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

Hi Foraging-Trail, Thanks for the Upvote and Resteem. I am following your channel now. Can't wait to see what other foragers are doing. Chanterelle season is right around the corner in PA.

You're welcome. Steemit has a great group of foragers from around the world. Here's to lots of chanterelles in your Pennsylvania woods!

What a great surprise to see you here on Steemit! I subscribe to your YouTube channel. You've done some nice foraging over the years. It's great that you have these Mazzard cherries (Prunus avium). They are classed as an invasive plant here in the Pacific Northwest, but I have to admit, I like them. I have a grove of them on my place and really enjoy the cherries. To harvest cherries growing high up, I cut off whole branches. Like you say, they are small, but they sure are good! Welcome to Steemit!

Hey Haphazard-hstead! Great to see you hear on SteemIt. I am following you back. I don't mind them being invasive either. For branches to high to reach, I use a long forked stick to reach and pull the high branches down. I am always surprised how far the cherry tree branch can bend.

That's a great idea with the forked stick! Thank goodness for flexible cherry branches. It's terrible, though, when the next ripe fruit is plums and their branches are so brittle. My poor Methley plum takes the hit every year with my lack of grace, lol.

Love it! I'm yet to find a wild cherry tree but I hope it isn't much longer! Learning as many wild edibles as I can and it's so empowering. Thanks for sharing, just followed you. Looking forward to learning more!

I hope you find some too. Early spring is the best time to find cherry when they flower. I found my first one because I was trying to ID the tree with white flowers before the other trees have leaves.

I've also used this method to find old abandoned Apple and pear trees too.

Nice! Good to know. It's definitely way easier for me to identify trees when their leaves are on them but I hope to be able to start learning the barks of the trees before long. Can you propagate a cherry tree through air layering do you think?

I've never tried it but I think there was a good chance of would work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43