First Forage at the Family Farm

in #foraging6 years ago

I took work off last Monday to go Morel hunting. My dad decided to join me and we went to our families' farm. We rent it out right now and I haven't spent much time their in my adult life. In the past year or so I've become very interested in wild edibles. There has been a large learning curve so far, but my knowledge base is slowly building.

When we got there I went straight for these mushroom's on a log that I had seen a month ago. The old one's were unappealing, but people had told me they were edible and would come back. Come back they did!

IMG_1908.JPG
Polyporus Squamosus - Pheasnt Back, Dryad's Saddle

I think they are really neat looking! They are in the refrigerator right now while I decide what to do with them. I was very happy to know that I at least found one source of recurring edible mushroom. I still haven't tried them yet so don't eat them on account of what I say.

My dad and I walked around a bit and I found another pond with American Lotus. I am excited to try and harvest it once it starts growing again. I have heard that the whole plant is edible. It is so cool to learn a new species and realize that you have been walking right by it all this time. Ever since I found out what a gooseberry bush looked like, I see them everywhere now. It is like putting on different vision when walking through the woods, or like reading a book years after you read it the first time. You pick up different things based on the knowledge and experience you have.

We took a stroll around the property because I had never really known the boundary line. There were also black berry patches that my father wanted to show me. It is still too early for them but here is a picture of their leaves.

IMG_1911.JPG
Blackberry Leaves

I am waiting for the berries to come and then I will try to eat some of the leaves. Since I am new to foraging I try to make sure I get a 100% ID and am extra cautious about what I eat in any quantity. I feel like you need to research and make sure it's not poisonous and even then eat small amounts to make sure no allergic reaction occurs.

I was very happy to see wild life on the property. We saw two deer and two turkeys which bodes well for when I am ready to try and hunt them. Even if not, it's always nice to see them running around. There was a large black rat snake but I didn't manage to get a picture of it. We have also always had tortoises on the property. I couldn't tell ya what kind other than we've always called them box turtles.

IMG_1919.JPG

I found violets in some of the woody areas and brought some home to eat. I made sure to be aware of how many there were in an area as to not over harvest them. I only took a few since they were competing with so many other plants.

IMG_1912.JPG
Viola rafinesquii - Johnny-jump-up

That's not the violet I ate but I just learned what a Johnny-jump-up was writing this. They were all over the open fields. One of the reason's I am writing this is so that hopefully I can remember easier by interacting with the words and pictures. I also seek out experts online and in person as well as consult books and the internet. I think the best way to learn something is to immerse yourself in it, and over time connections start to form.

All this wandering and I hadn't found a single Morel. I dug up some wild onions, and found what I think is chickweed, still need to do some research on that one. I think it has a potential to become a staple though since it is so common. There is also a patch of cattails on the property and I dug up a few of the sprouts so that I could try them too. We were winding up the day when I decided to go check one more area. Guess what I found?

IMG_1925.JPG
Morchella americana - Morel - Yellow Morel

I was so excited! I did a happy dance and started scouring the area for more. There was one that I seemed to have kicked, but none beyond that. I wandered in the woods a bit more searching and shaking the morels as I went in hopes of spreading the spores for future generations to grow. They seemed to have a very distinct, memorable smell.

All in all I think it was a pretty good day of foraging. My knowledge and skill have much room to be developed, but this is what I got for now. Here is one last picture of some of the stuff that I found.

IMG_1930.JPG

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

really nice. keep at it and keep posting about it.

Thank you for the encouragement!

You are lucky to have such a great place to go foraging at. Around here, there really isn't anyplace outside of my own yard to forage at. But there's pretty much a feast to be found on my little 1 acre.

Lucky I agree, Thank you, I wish I had the knowledge to fully take advantage of everything that's there. Have you planted things on your acre?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64912.75
ETH 3524.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42