Foraging In My Yard - Fruit Nuts and Fungi 🍄🍁🌼steemCreated with Sketch.

in #foraging7 years ago

It has been raining for a couple of days so that always is a cue that it is a good time to check for mushrooms. I wandered to the edge of the forest where my favorite places to look for mushrooms are and was happy to see a few tree ear mushrooms. I plucked those from the rotting logs they were growing on and put them in my basket. Those would go nicely in my stir fry for lunch.

177F945A-F4FC-4DD7-95B3-020F7229D6F8.jpeg

BE432C53-3667-4F51-9EC6-1930A0F8792F.jpeg

Then I walked a few yards and found some fallen limbs with some fresh reishi mushrooms and turkey tail mushrooms. These are medicinal, but not culinary. I only picked a few because I didn’t have my camera with me and so I will go back tomorrow and photograph and pick them.

9074AE2E-D86C-4911-986F-0820CC27D3D3.jpeg

Then, walking back to the house I spied some persimmons on the ground that were ripe. I like to put them in a jar with vodka to make some liquor.

9EE5C17B-BDC1-481B-A6FF-83B6F6727EC7.jpeg

Our black walnut trees are loaded this year. They are falling on the ground all over the place, but I like to wait a month or so to pick them up when all of the outer husk has crumbled off. When they are green like this you can also put them in a jar with vodka and make a parasite cleanse.

842AA500-E036-42BB-A203-F64E6A73F6EC.jpeg

Food and medicine all around. I’m learning new things every day about how to use them. I am grateful for the bounty.

Thanks for stopping by,

D6837E81-9865-4CC2-86B9-6593590FB897.jpeg

Sort:  

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

That is awesome. We have mushrooms but I never know what are good and not. I guess I could look on a facebook group or something. Interesting about the parasite cleanse. We do papaya seeds for that here.

I depend on a couple of different Facebook mushroom Identification groups plus google searches.

Congratulations @stillwatersart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm not so sure that's reishi (Ganoderma lucidum or Ganoderma tsugae).
What makes you think it is?

I wish I could identify more mushrooms. I love eating them, but you really have to know your mushies, because they could be the last you ever eat.

I only eat ones that don't have poisonous look alike and are easily identified.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94