You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foraging Wild Edible Purslane

in #foraging7 years ago

WE HAVE TONS OF THIS IN OUR YARD!~!
It does behave like a weed, but I learned early on that it is no weed!
I told my neighbor about it, and she didn't care, she keeps on pulling it out of her garden! Ugh!
We have lots of spurge here too, its good that you showed the difference for people new to purslane.
Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

You are very welcome. Some people cannot get past the fact that some people call it a weed. They have no idea that in other countries, people intentionally grow it and actually sell it as a regular crop.

True!! It is so healthy for you and most of the time, its FREE since it just grows all over the place.
I actually planted some seeds and grew some in the house in pots last year. It grew pretty well, but I think it didnt have enough sunshine, since it ended up being pretty leggy...
We also grew some in our aquaponics system, where it did very well.

I want to set up an solar system to provide LED lighting in one room I can keep the cats out of. But we get so much hail I am afraid I would constantly have to replace it. We've lived here almost 11 years and had to put two roofs on the house because of several hail damage. The last one actually put dings all over our cars too. I just don't think solar panels can deal with that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72