You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chestnuts, a winter food that can help you in times of financial insecurity

in #foraging7 years ago

Very cool. Chestnuts always remind me of NYC in the winter. Great tip on how to remove the prickly shell!

Sort:  

Thanks, I'm glad it's helpful... I didn't know NYC's full of chestnuts. I hope they don't just rot on the ground. Around here the city's (Zagreb, Croatia) full of horse chestnuts, Aesculus hippocastanum, but the real, edible ones grow on the mountain (Medvednica) next to the city. It's sort of a tradition that's slowly dying out, people hiking and collecting chestnuts in the fall... Nowadays a kilo of chestnuts in the market is priced up to 10$/kg, so price has never been higher and people gather them less and less... Makes no sense, money is a problem but paying for free food isn't!

The street vendors in NYC roast chestnuts all winter long and the smell is unmistakable. I've never actually seen anyone purchase them and haven't ever tried one myself, so I don't know what they taste like. I'll have to try them the next time I'm in town. It never occurred to me that you could just find chestnuts growing somewhere in the woods. I thought they must be cultivated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63