Foraging Wild and Unique Berries From Mauritius - Discovery

in #foraging7 years ago

Hello Steemians! Trust you are all having an amazing Tuesday!

This morning I decided to go picking some wild berries in the wild as i wanted to participate in this week Steemit Culinary Challenge!

The wild berries we have in Mauritius is quite unique i think as I have never seen it anywhere else, the reason why I call them ALIEN BERRIES.

I am so pleased to share some pics with you and in the same time give some info about the taste of the berries we have in Mauritius!

ENJOY

IMG_2682.jpg

Day : Tuesday 04/07/17
Time : 10 am
Direction : Piton Du Milieu

It is a 10 minutes drive from my house!!! Weather was cloudy but no rain! just for info, it is winter time in Mauritius!

IMG_2672.jpg

With my daughter who always accompany me, We found our first berry on the roadside itself!

IMG_2610.jpg

Here is a closer look at this amazing berry, the plant is thorny and the fruit has a sweet and mild acidity taste! The more ripened ones are the sweetest! I know it by the name of wild strawberry!

IMG_2604.jpg

The next one we picked was a hairy berry with a blue color! Check it out!

IMG_2615.jpg

Here's a closer shot of this berry. Blue on the outside, white inside, very sweet and the taste is a little like blueberry! When you eat a lot, your tongue becomes blue and I know it by 'Blue'.

IMG_2622.jpg

This is the place I went today! A bushy area near Piton Du Milieu in Mauritius! It was muddy because of the previous days rainfall. Yes quite wetty infact!!!

IMG_2623.jpg

Next I encountered this little beauty, my mum and dad used to tell me about these. Didn't find enough to use for the contest! It taste quite bland with just a slight sweetness! May be they were out of season!

IMG_2631.jpg

Some more pics of the wild strawberry picked by mum and wife!

IMG_2635.jpg

A last for the road!!!

IMG_2638.jpg

We picked up a nice bowl of wild berries, some for eating and some for the contest of course! While coming back I saw this beautiful garden of carrots! So green!!!

IMG_2649.jpg

Thirty minutes later, it was time to hit back home and prepare the recipe!!! The sun started to come out finally!

IMG_2681.jpg

So here's this is how much we collected! Just enough and not to waste!

IMG_2682.jpg

Had a great time doing this activity today!

Hope you liked it!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

So enjoyed this post! Lovely as usual.

Happy day to you and your family!

Thanks a lot dear!

Have a nice day!

Ooh our guest judge @haphazard-hstead will be so pleased you gathered wild berries for this challenge! I can't wait to see what you make with them!

Yes i really wanted to showcase these unsual berries that i am sure many people will not know. I've just posted the recipe, very simple indeed! Hope you will like it.

Thanks
@progressivechef

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechefM2W from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I love this post and how you included your little one in foraging! We love to forage and make great recipes with our finds!

Thank you! Oh my little one, she's always with me everywhere! Making recipe with your finds is one of the best feeling ever!

awww look at your little one I'm so glad you included her in the challenge :D great job
Soy tu tio

Thanks a lot @tioluis! Appreciate your comment!

don't worry I really like your posts, I think you do a great job and this is not the exception

Wow look at those berries! What country are you in? Great photos. Making my mouth water. And your magical assistant, how wonderful.

Now that the culinary challenge is over, I can say -- How nice to see some tropical berries! I sure am curious about what plants those are! I can see how the red ones got the name 'wild strawberry' and the blue ones 'blue', lol!

It looks like the red one is Rubus rosifolius, the Mauritius raspberry or thimbleberry. So cool. I can see from the picture with you holding them in your hand, that the fruit makes a little cup like raspberries. We have thimbleberries, but a different species, here in the Pacific Northwest, too.

Yes exactly dear, I just checked the name out, Rubus rosifolius, this is the same one! You are just awesome! Finally we got the scientific name!
Hmmm now gotta make some research for the 'blue'!!! I hope we get it soon!
i will be sharing some more tropical rare fruits soon! You'll enjoy for sure!

It's neat that the red one is really from your area, not imported from elsewhere. It's really a specialty from Mauritius. I want to get the 'blue' figured out! The leaves look so familiar to some landscaping plants that I don't know the name of -- yet! It's amazing how every place has its own unique plants that have fed people over the ages. Enjoy your tropical fruits, especially your Mauritius fruits!

I will try to get some more pics of the 'blue' one once i go to that area again and share it! We are really lucky to get so much of tropical fruits here on the island dear, there is always something to discover throughout the whole year!

Great! I'll be happy when we get it figured out. There are so many local names for some plants. And when we know the scientific name, then it's easy to know its close relatives, that might be growing in other parts of the world.

I went and picked some Thimble berries yesterday and will post on them tomorrow.

Yay! Enjoy your berries! :D

Nice foraging! The bushy area and wetness didn't stop you! That's a real forager! And they look so elegant in that last photo. It's nice that you are showing your daughter these plants, too!

It would be nice to have the scientific name of your plants. If anyone has an idea of the last two plants, please chime in! It helps us all learn about nature's abundance!

Thanks for the nice words dear! Oh yes my daughter is always on the frontline when i talk about going out to forage!!! She just love it!
We got one of the name thanks to @haphazard-hstead!!! Rubus Rosifolius for the red one!

Great Berry pics! Your hairy blue berries look like our salal berries. I'll be making a post about them this week.

Thanks a lot for stopping by dear! I just checked out the salal berries, maybe it is from the same family!

I'll do a salal berry article tuesday and find out the scientific name and then come back and then compare.

That sounds amazing! Looking forward for it mate!

I just checked it out dear! Nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23